More than one cloud-connect SSIDs

RonRN18

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to having a working BlackVue DR970X and want to connect my camera to more than one WiFi hotspot, depending on where I am. When I am home, I have a high-speed WiFi network with plenty of bandwidth and unlimited data. I have also a small VM that as long as the camera is on the network, it automatically syncs all the data from the camera to a large file server. When I am NOT at home, my car has its own WiFi network that relies on a cellular connection. That network is not as good, but it works outside the home. The unfortunate issue is that neither the iOS app nor the BlackVue Viewer for Windows allows you to make a connection to more than one WiFi system for cloud access at a time. I did find that when I had the SD card in my computer, in the "/BlackVue/Config/config.ini" file, in the bottom "[Cloud]" section, it appears that there is the ability to set up THREE different networks. While that would make things easy, it isn't because they "salt" the password. I think I found a workaround, but it was more convoluted. I originally set up "sta_ssid" with my vehicle's hotspot information. I then opened up the firmware settings in BlackVue Viewer and entered the password. I then reopened the config.ini file and copied the now salted password to "sta2_pw" and changed the "sta2_ssid" to the SSID of my vehicle's hotspot. I then changed the "sta_ssid" to my home netowrk's SSID. I then needed to open up the BlackVue Viewer to enter the password to my home network. I THINK all is now working but I'm thinking there has to be a better way than how I did it. Anyone else have any ideas?

I think they forgot to enable it. My 970x only has the 1 SSID but my 900s has 3 SSIDs in the same app.