Suction Mount Transcend Drive Pro 220

Tiny_UK

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, a newbie here.

I have a Transcend DrivePro 220 Dash cam. Have no problem with the unit. can't fault it....
But... It has spent many a happy hour on the windscreen of my Peugeot Partner Tepee. I
have decided to place it to the rear as I will be getting a new Transcend Dash Cam in the
near future. My problem is with the suction cup. Perfect on the front screen, but on
placing it on the rear window, it falls of in the space of 2 minutes. Have you come across
this little problem before? I do not want to dispose of the camera just because it won't
stay on the rear window. My vehicle is a Motability vehicle and cannot use a more permanent

method of adhesion. I always thought the suction cup was rather small. ....Help, please.

First welcome to DCT :)

Are there raised defroster wires where you are attempting to mount it? Suction cups like only clean flat glass to stay put well. And is the glass squeaky-clean? This is important in both mounting and video clarity. What I usually do with these is to clean both the cup and the glass, then lick my finger and wet the edges of the cup. Then I press in hard on the center of the mount before flipping the lock lever down. This usually gets me 1-2 months before the cheap mounts I use fall off or need resetting; better quality mounts will go longer. But it must be remembered that suction mounts are meant only to be temporary; they are not a permanent mount design.