World dashcam diffusion

papinist

Reaction score
Country
Italy
Dash Cam
mini0906
I am pretty new to the dashcam world, and I'm just curious to know where in the world these cams are widely used.

I live in Italy and I have never saw a dashcam installed in cars here. Perhaps when my dashcam will arrive (from dealextreme) I will be one of the first pioneers :)
I know that in Russia (and probably in other eastern countries) dashcams are very popular.. but in the rest of the world?

What country has a wide use (for insurance reason or just for personal security) as per your knowledge?

Hi papinist,

I think this is a great question. I have not seen any statistics but here is what I think. Like you said, Russia probably has the largest penetration of dash cams.

Beyond that, they are quite popular in South Korea as well. There are many Korean websites discussing dash cams and many of the Korean dash cams only come with Korean firmware / manuals. Hence the market must be large enough there.

The third largest, I would guess is Singapore. The Singaporean insurance company DBS even gives away a free in car camera if you purchase their DriveShield insurance.

Here is a commercial from them (they have a few different ones on their Youtube channel).

In car cameras appear to be catching on in the United States and Canada but I imagine the percentage is still very low.

Outside of these countries, I think dash cams are relatively rare. You are likely an Italian pioneer :D

Dash Cam Man

Last edited by a moderator:
If anyone is interested, here are the top countries to visit this site over the last 3 months. Note that this is not scientific at all but perhaps a small glimpse of where interest in dash cams reside.

Code:
United States   29.36%
Canada          12.34%
Russia          10.24%
Australia        5.36%
United Kingdom   4.05%
Germany          3.75%
Singapore        3.72%
Finland          2.99%
Belarus          2.05%
Ukraine          1.90%
China            1.74%