$100 or less, little to no maintenance, good quality cam?

iamgregror

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm really new to this stuff so I've been reading a lot of the great material around here, but I just don't have time to research all the options and stuff that some of you already have. I'd like to at least start by getting some recommendations so I can know what to look for.

For example, what is the advantage of a screen versus no screen? Just being able to preview on the spot?

Is a tape mount a pain since you can't move the cam easily and can you get a suction mount for cameras that don't normally use it?

Batteries seem to be a huge pain so can I just run it off car power? Do they use USB so I can use my external usb battery charger (the one I use to charge my phone when I forgot to charge it before leaving the house)?

I could go a little more than $100 if it meant I get what I want, but I'm not entirely certain what I want yet I guess :)

Use of the camera is just evidence in case of trouble. Accidents, recording while parked in case of vandalism and so on. I suppose that means I'd want it on a continuous loop where I can just stop the "tape" if there was a problem in the last 24 hours or so.

I hear there's a dual camera option too, but is that problematic or is that awesome? Is the point being able to record what's going on in the car too?

Screen will allow you to aim the camera quickly, and allows for playback via the camera itself. You can always get a OTG microSD/SD card reader though if you happen to have an Android phone/phablet/tablet. Some of our products come with one.

3M VHB adhesive tape mount is the best long term installation method. You can saw through it with a piece of string when it's time to remove the tape from the window.