2014 VicoVation Marcus-3, 1080p-60Fps, Super HD 2304 x 1296р, 3DNR, WDR, LDWS, FCWS , GPS, CPL

bronze84

Active Member
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
265
Reaction score
100
Location
Derby
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F750, K1S, Marcus3, Mobius, Xiaomi Yi, Sony AS100v
I can't see much difference in the firmware. The video looks slightly darker if anything. It still has the blocking effect when driving through a tree lined road. Hope this is something they will eventually fix. Luckily it's in my wife's car and she isn't as bothered as me. I'm holding out for the guardtrak
 

-Pizdys-

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jul 21, 2013
Messages
151
Reaction score
193
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
better than yours....
just for info:
VicoVation Marcus 3 use Aptina AR0330 not AR0331
i was check the sensor under microscope and its exactly the same like LS300W, same dimensions.











specifications from Aptina website says:

http://www.aptina.com/products/image_sensors/

AR0331 - 10 x 10 and 9 x 9

AR0330 - 11.4 x 11.4, 6.3 x 6.7 (imaging area 5.07mm H x 3.38mm )

so that one is exactly the same like LS300W so it's AR0330
 

cheery3853

Member
Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
49
Reaction score
6
Country
Canada
Thanks for sharing the information. Let's see what is the difference between a7l a70+ar0330 and nt96650+ar0330. LS300w night image is pretty impressive to me, and I am not satisfied with 3.2g firmware night image quality on Marcus 3. It is not sharp at all for now.
Let's see how vico tune the firmware.
just for info:
VicoVation Marcus 3 use Aptina AR0330 not AR0331
i was check the sensor under microscope and its exactly the same like LS300W, same dimensions.











specifications from Aptina website says:

http://www.aptina.com/products/image_sensors/

AR0331 - 10 x 10 and 9 x 9

AR0330 - 11.4 x 11.4, 6.3 x 6.7 (imaging area 5.07mm H x 3.38mm )

so that one is exactly the same like LS300W so it's AR0330
 

Blaze9

Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
5
Country
United States
Been a while since their last update. Might have pulled the trigger a bit quick on this purchase now that the 4 and 5 are released. Their quality seems incredibly better than the 3's.
 

bronze84

Active Member
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
265
Reaction score
100
Location
Derby
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F750, K1S, Marcus3, Mobius, Xiaomi Yi, Sony AS100v

cheery3853

Member
Joined
May 9, 2013
Messages
49
Reaction score
6
Country
Canada
Just disassembled a Vico Marcus 3 and see the internal hardwares. I do not really understand why they put a piece of black paper cover the chipset. Could someone explain that?



 

-Pizdys-

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jul 21, 2013
Messages
151
Reaction score
193
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
better than yours....
I do not really understand why they put a piece of black paper cover the chipset. Could someone explain that?
this black paper is actually double sided sticky tape which is use for transferring heat from CPU to this pink thermal tape.
...A7 CPU getting hot when operate so this is necessary and standard solution.
 

bronze84

Active Member
Joined
May 5, 2013
Messages
265
Reaction score
100
Location
Derby
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Thinkware F750, K1S, Marcus3, Mobius, Xiaomi Yi, Sony AS100v
Ooo a firmware update!!! When was this released? I'll download and install and hopefully Vico will have worked some magic
 

venezian

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
235
Reaction score
97
Location
Los Angeles
Country
United States
Dash Cam
SG Panorama | SG SG9665GC | SG SG9663DC
from vico website

1.Improve system and memory card (Micro SDHC) compatibility.
2.GPS Function (Smart Warning System) Bug Fixed on LCD display react when LCD Auto-off turn on.
3.Improve LDWS and FCWS sensitivity.
 

Greeny84

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Australia
Has anyone else had this problem or is it just me? I've now had two marcus3's with the same issue now.

basically use the camera for work and drive at times up to 8 hours, I set
the camera up and it begins to record no problem. However after about 2
hours the camera turns its self off, it automatically comes back on and
records for about 10 seconds before turning off again and it continues to do
this.

The only way i can get it to work its to eject the memory card as if i don’
t i can’t access the function menu then i re-insert the memory card and
reformat the memory card loosing the previous 2 hours of footage. Then it
works for about an other two hours, less if I have it on i higher quality so
I’ve been using 720 30fps.
 

-Pizdys-

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jul 21, 2013
Messages
151
Reaction score
193
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
better than yours....
@grenny84, - which memory card are you using? is it SDXC type?
 

Greeny84

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Australia
@grenny84, - which memory card are you using? is it SDXC type?
I have two cards a Sandisk 64gb micro SDXC class 10 and a
samsung 64gb micro SDXC class 10 and i have the same problem when using both.
 

-Pizdys-

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jul 21, 2013
Messages
151
Reaction score
193
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
better than yours....
@grenny84

please be sure:
- your 64GB memory card is on exFAT format (no FAT32)
- you must use genuine power supply (no hard-wire connect etc).

that only apply to SDXC cards (64GB / 128GB / 256GB) if you got SDHC (8 / 16/ 32GB) FAT32 is fine.
 

Greeny84

New Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Australia
@grenny84

please be sure:
- your 64GB memory card is on exFAT format (no FAT32)
- you must use genuine power supply (no hard-wire connect etc).

that only apply to SDXC cards (64GB / 128GB / 256GB) if you got SDHC (8 / 16/ 32GB) FAT32 is fine.
Great, thanks for that it was formatted to FAT32 but I've changed it to exfat so I'll give it a go tomorrow.

Thanks again
 

c_rmeks

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Brazil
Hi for all ! One question:
These features "lane departure warning" and "forward collision avoidance" really work ?
 

-Pizdys-

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Jul 21, 2013
Messages
151
Reaction score
193
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
better than yours....
no it's doesn't...it's not enough accurate like should be
 

c_rmeks

New Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Country
Brazil
-Pizdys-, thanks for information. :)

ps: suspected that, because it was not adopted in version 4.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top