Car Dealer Uses Court to Block Damning Video | Justice Ensues - Freedom of Speech Restored!

Did the car dealer deceive the customer?

• Total voters
Was posted here previously, interesting the approach the dealer took which is surely going to end up worse for them in the long run

Get an All Data DIY account. I have a subscription for each car in my household and for siblings. It will show you how much the book labor rate is, that is how shops charge. The woman even mentioned All Data in the final call.

I'm pretty sure they charged you for each repair by the book rate even though they didn't spend that much time on it. So if a brake job for rotors and pads for all 4 wheels calls for 3.8 hours, they will charge you for 3.8 hours even if the tech only spend 2.1 hours on the job. It is a win win situation for the tech and the stealership. Most shops pay the techs by the work and not hourly. So a tech can earn 12 hours worth of work even though he only worked 8 hours. So there is an incentive for the techs to pile on more work that is not needed.

www.alldatadiy.com

If All Data says a job takes 4 hours & the tech does it in half that time then one of two things is seriously wrong.
Either the tech has not done the job properly OR All Data is an industry-driven book drawn up to seriously rob the customer.
IF a garage uses this as a guide "that should take a maximum of 4 hours, therefore the charge will be $400 plus parts... giving you a total of $$$" You then turn up & discover the job only took half the time & therefore get $200 knocked off the bill, you are going to keep on going back - you will even recommend them as an honest workshop. Very few workshops will spend longer than they have to in order to remove a part, if they have to chop nuts & bolts to get it out - it has to be a cheaper alternative to an extra hours' labour?

In this instance, the stealership robbed the OP blind & now seek to continue robbing him through the shadiest of legal channels.