Dash cam for long term parked car.

ismolika

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,
I need to know if there is a way to park my car like 7 to 10 days and keep motion detection on without unit shutting off due to low battery.
I am a truck driver and I do park my car in truck yard and be on the road for 7 to 10 days usually. So I want to have a video footage if anyone hits my car while I am on the road with semi.

Thank you in advance.

Depending on the camera, I would guess you'd need at least a 250AH deep discharge battery bank and possibly a solar recharger to be able to power it reliably for that long.

KuoH

Depending on the camera, I would guess you'd need at least a 250AH deep discharge battery bank and possibly a solar recharger to be able to power it reliably for that long.

KuoH
O wow, thank you :) Guess ill give up on that idea, lol.

If the car is at home, i would put a CCTV camera on it, i have that on my parked car, and get AI smart motion detect notifications on my phone if anything human or vehicle shaped move with in 3 feet or so of the parked car.
But i am just here my my 2 floor apartment 50 yards from the car.

Parking guard in dashcams while nice and all ( i use that too but just on a 1 hour timer as i dont want to load the measly 50 Ah battery in my little car, but there it do fine and cover all my shopping, and i could up the timer if i wanted to / felt like i needed to.

Outside parameters like "stuff" on car glass will also render dashcam useless, and it also need to be parked in a place with some light to see something.

As it is a Pan Tilt Zoom, camera i can remotely operate it too, smarter / newer / better stuff could even auto track and zoom onto something entering a specified "box" in the footage.
Mine is cheap Dahua IP cameras.

Last edited:
If you park at a company parking lot while you are out and about, those guys should provide you guys on the floor / behind the wheel access to a PTZ camera covering your cars.