DVR 027 non-cycle operation

trackvids

Reaction score
I'm new to dash cams and want to use one for recreational driving rather than normal monitoring. Will all of these cameras operate in non-cyclic mode and create single, continuous files (for example, 45 min) when manually started? My intended use is to capture a whole 20 to 50 minute session or race on a closed race circuit. Many racers I know buy action/sports cameras like GoPro Hero, but I have seen output from these and they do not look much better than some dashcams (especially the older GoPros).

Based on the few posts I've browsed and the comparison page, the DVR 027 720P looks like my first choice. Will this one take large continuous files if cycling is turned off? The DVR 027 info page notes that gaps of a few seconds are inevitable in cyclic mode.

If the cheap 640x480 cams will also record in non-cycle mode, that may be good enough for my uses... Night vision and reading license plates are not a factor. I just want a record of the race for giggles and to review my technique to get better. Plus, I can afford more of them :) and have one watching in each direction, monitor hands/feet, etc. A couple years ago I bought some $10 keychain cameras that are limited to 20min videos I think, and I never got around to making re-usable mounts. I got one enjoyable set of vids at a low-speed event but I think I would prefer spending a little more on something a little better.

Thanks!

depends on the software of the cam you choose, they typically offer a continuous mode as in they will keep shooting until the card is full, they will often still have split points though, decent cams don't lose anything at the split point, really depends what you buy, if you want to use them in a motorsport application you might want to check with the scrutineers and see if they have any requirements for the mounting, it may need a fixed mount rather than an on glass mount and may need to be tethered separately as well