Firmware for G90 Ambarella A7LA70 with GPS

96902

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
10
Location
ufa
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
e720A7LA50+G90A7LA30+G90A7LA70GPS

96902

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
10
Location
ufa
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
e720A7LA50+G90A7LA30+G90A7LA70GPS
I have a model A7LA70
in the archive is 20140916h_a7la70_zx_nogps_svn553
and with GPS where?
 

reverend

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2014
Messages
5,682
Reaction score
4,079
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Too many
If it's not in that archive just contact SZDome and they'll send you the file directly.

Normally whoever would sell you the device would provide the firmware - but worst case try the email on this page:

http://www.szdome.com/en/contact-detail-101.html

I've not linked it directly just to try and stop it picking it so much spam :)
 
OP
DeLorean

DeLorean

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
217
Reaction score
76
Location
HM Prison Wormwood Scrubs
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Front: G90 A7LA70 with GPS / Rear: G1WH
Hi 96902,
The problem is you're using the wrong firmware... the firmware you currently have installed in your G90 is for a non-GPS device.
If using the correct firmware you will have a red GPS icon if no antenna is detected or no GPS lock is available or a turquoise icon showing the strength of the GPS signal.
GPs and non-GPS G90's use entirely different firmwares.
You can use a non-GPS firmware in your GPS G90 (as you currently have), but you'll loose any GPS functionality.
Don't use G90 + GPS firmware version G90-A770_553-S-H as it's very buggy.
Use the older G90 + GPS firmware version trunk r439M which is much better and perfectly stable (lacks time-lapse function).
P.S. You did buy a G90 + GPS and not retrofitted a GPS antenna to a standard G90 as the internal hardware is different.
P.P.S. I contacted Doreen at SZDome requesting the latest firmware (when I bricked my G90) and heard nothing back :-(
Why can't they just make the firmware downloads available from their website?
 
Last edited:
OP
DeLorean

DeLorean

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
217
Reaction score
76
Location
HM Prison Wormwood Scrubs
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Front: G90 A7LA70 with GPS / Rear: G1WH
Whoops I forgot...
You can download the G90 A7LA70 + GPS r439M firmware from:
https://mega.co.nz/#!ZkRG2STD!-8MZzzwz2XsTVQA1akfF2fTYUF8yNMBeuNKL4uy_bWo
The GPS antenna is incredibly sensitive and will even work through the bodywork of the car!
96902, I've also posted this info on your YouTube video to help others who are experience the same problem.
Enjoy :-D
 
Last edited:

96902

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
10
Location
ufa
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
e720A7LA50+G90A7LA30+G90A7LA70GPS
Hi DeLorean
I very bad English, through a translator google...
Thanks for the firmware r439M, but I 2 hours and caught no one satellite :)
 
OP
DeLorean

DeLorean

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
217
Reaction score
76
Location
HM Prison Wormwood Scrubs
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Front: G90 A7LA70 with GPS / Rear: G1WH
I speak English and rough Slovak, but no Russian sorry :-(
Was the GPS icon showing on the display?
Are you sure your G90 has GPS?
 

96902

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
10
Location
ufa
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
e720A7LA50+G90A7LA30+G90A7LA70GPS
index.php


GPS icon showing on the display - Yes
Are you sure your G90 has GPS - I have ordered a Fandy
 

96902

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
10
Location
ufa
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
e720A7LA50+G90A7LA30+G90A7LA70GPS
and who knows when the sound fix?
If you play music louder, the sound is terrible :(
 
OP
DeLorean

DeLorean

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
217
Reaction score
76
Location
HM Prison Wormwood Scrubs
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Front: G90 A7LA70 with GPS / Rear: G1WH
From your latest video you don't appear to be using the r439M firmware I suggested as I can see 0.0km being displayed.
The r439M doesn't display your speed on the screen or on the recording.
The GPS indictor is displayed in the bottom left corner of the display.
Grey = GPS antenna not connected.
Red = No GPS reception.
Turquoise = GPS reception (number of bars indicates GPS precision).
You have switched you GPS on in the settings?
Your audio does sound a little crackly.
Make sure everything is tight and no wiring is able to shake, vibrate or move.
P.S. Sorry for the awful picture :-/

IMAG1239.jpg
 
Last edited:

96902

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
38
Reaction score
10
Location
ufa
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
e720A7LA50+G90A7LA30+G90A7LA70GPS
108792476.jpg


108792477.jpg


108792478.jpg


firmware worth r439 - g90 lies on the window for about 3 hours. but icone gps gray :(
 
OP
DeLorean

DeLorean

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
217
Reaction score
76
Location
HM Prison Wormwood Scrubs
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Front: G90 A7LA70 with GPS / Rear: G1WH
don't know that this GPS supports Glonass

Good call, I'd forgotten that Russia has the Glonass system :-/
I can't find any videos online showing the G90 + GPS being used in Russia.
 
Last edited:

dav2d

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Country
Russian Federation
GPS system is available all over the world
GLONASS is only another satellite position system

so we can use GPS system in Russia too :)
i have G90 with GPS from joovoo, but haven't tested it in my car yet
but if i turn it on in my flat with GPS in it, on the screen i see red icon of GPS antenna
 
OP
DeLorean

DeLorean

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
217
Reaction score
76
Location
HM Prison Wormwood Scrubs
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Front: G90 A7LA70 with GPS / Rear: G1WH
The icon needs to turn turquoise (cyan) to indicate it's receiving a GPS signal.
GLONASS runs along side Global Positioning System, so there's no reason why it shouldn't work.
 
OP
DeLorean

DeLorean

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2013
Messages
217
Reaction score
76
Location
HM Prison Wormwood Scrubs
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Front: G90 A7LA70 with GPS / Rear: G1WH
GPS works there as well, Glonass gives better performance in that region though

Quite right... GLONASS can give you 20% faster acquisition time, better coverage and more accurate positioning + you can use GPS concurrently with it.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
52,479
Reaction score
30,326
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Not sure what GPS they are using, has anyone opened one up? Peel the sticker off the bottom and there's four screws to undo it it just pops apart
 

Street Guardian USA

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 14, 2013
Messages
11,863
Reaction score
8,348
Location
Oakland Park, Florida (USA)
Country
United States
Dash Cam
StreetGuardian.CAM Amazon.com
Not sure what GPS they are using, has anyone opened one up? Peel the sticker off the bottom and there's four screws to undo it it just pops apart

The GPS housing looks similar to others, is this housing used in many products but with different components inside?
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
V G90 1
Bo$s G90 3
Pianoman144 G90 1
camerahanhtrinhvn.com G90 6
V G90 2
Top