hardwire kit never power off 0906

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
44,657
Reaction score
23,628
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
This is a double edge sword. It will provide better battery protection but may result in longer periods of camera without power as it may require an engine start to trigger wake up..
that's how it should be though, what BMW do is the exception rather than the rule so the first version may be better for your particular needs, for everyone else a higher restart voltage is far better protection
 
OP
T

tinman

Active Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2014
Messages
101
Reaction score
48
Country
United States
upload_2017-10-26_15-37-33.png

Manually switch to allow going between parking mode and dumb dash cam mode. This way I dont' have to manually turn off the parking guard through the CAM menu when car is parked in the drive way. Also this will allow an easy way to power cycle the hardwire kit.
 

speuk

Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
135
Reaction score
54
Country
United Kingdom
Yes that exactly what I have done on one of mine. ✔
 

RobertL

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
Australia
HI there guys,
It is not a smart question but need to ask.
Why for this switch the yellow cable is connected at all?
If i install the on/off switch on a red cable only, wouldn't it do what needs to be done for that purpose?
 

speuk

Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
135
Reaction score
54
Country
United Kingdom
No you need yellow cable as it triggers the parking mode
 

RobertL

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
Australia
My mistake instead of colors I should use Constant and Parking.
So I would just install an On/Off switch on the Constant cable whichever color it is to switch off the Parking mode.
The other (Acc) cable would always be connected (bypassing the switch).
 

speuk

Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
135
Reaction score
54
Country
United Kingdom
The constant should toggle between Acc and Constant. Tinman has provided a diagram on page 2
 

HatboroMike

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
@speuk , would your connection be something like this?

View attachment 33915
Dumb question... but how are you splitting the hardware kit? I'm not clear on how the toggle switch gets wired and tied into the fuse box. Are there two separate fusetaps. I would appreciate a clearer description of how it's all physically wired. I don't follow the diagram. Thx
 

speuk

Active Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2015
Messages
135
Reaction score
54
Country
United Kingdom
Dumb question... but how are you splitting the hardware kit? I'm not clear on how the toggle switch gets wired and tied into the fuse box. Are there two separate fusetaps. I would appreciate a clearer description of how it's all physically wired. I don't follow the diagram. Thx
Yes two fuse taps, one connects to always on power and the other to ignition switched (accessory) power. The toggle switch simply switches the constant lead from the power supply between the constant fuse tap and the acc fuse tap, or to put it another way it joins the red and yellow leads together and connects them to the acc supply so they both only get power when the ignition is on.
 

Similar threads


Top