I need a dual camera for extensive driving...

Des3

Reaction score
Country
United States
I drive for a living and need a camera that will record for long periods of time (so either better compression or average video quality). I usually work between 8-12 hours a day. The older cameras could go for weeks at a time before you had to re-format the SD card, but everything I look at today is based on higher video quality so will last about the length of one day of work (if I'm lucky). I've seen the dual SD card cameras (which would be an improvement), but is there anything out there that would use less storage so I could at least get 4 or 5 days before reformatting? I can't erase the data before the trip is complete in case there is a question or problem that isn't brought up until the end.

I prefer the dual camera, but would consider two singles if they didn't take up too much window space. I don't need ANY extras....it just has to run without stopping until I turn it off.

Thanks

Joklin and Niko are probably the best to guide you. They have extensive experience in reviewing wide range of Dash Cams.
Data rate is also a significant factor in storage space consumed. Some cams have menu or FW version option to slow the rate. They could advise.
I think you mean how many days can be stored before over-writing oldest file. Reformating is only needed rarely as preventative maintenance for SD card.
128GB cards are supported on some cams. Could be larger capacity as this is changing quickly.

Joklin and Niko are probably the best to guide you. They have extensive experience in reviewing wide range of Dash Cams.
Data rate is also a significant factor in storage space consumed. Some cams have menu or FW version option to slow the rate. They could advise.
I think you mean how many days can be stored before over-writing oldest file. Reformating is only needed rarely as preventative maintenance for SD card.