Lukas Qvia T790 user thoughts/opinions?

OP
green_comet

green_comet

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2014
Messages
25
Reaction score
6
Location
Melbourne
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Itronics ITB100HD
Well I ended up ordering a T790, here's hoping it works out. :confused:
 

kamkar1

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
21,342
Reaction score
11,720
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
No worries, it will be like a cold talie on a hot day. :)
 

say_oh_shin

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Scottsdale, AZ
Country
United States
Dash Cam
QVIA T790
I think my biggest gripe with the unit so far has been that however the dash cam formats the SD card makes it unreadable by my computer (late 2013 macbook pro). I've tried both the built in SD card reader and using a USB adapter with the same results: "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
45,939
Reaction score
24,734
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
I think my biggest gripe with the unit so far has been that however the dash cam formats the SD card makes it unreadable by my computer (late 2013 macbook pro). I've tried both the built in SD card reader and using a USB adapter with the same results: "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."
I know @Calgary Dash Camera - Robert is a Mac user and has used this model ok, maybe ask a friend with a Windows PC to check the card also, if Windows can't read it either perhaps there's a bigger issue

Are you using the supplied memory card?
 

Calgary Dash Camera - Robert

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Nov 1, 2013
Messages
547
Reaction score
222
Location
Dayton Nevada & Calgary Alberta
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Lukasdirect.com Street Guardian BulletHD Calgarydashcam.com
I think my biggest gripe with the unit so far has been that however the dash cam formats the SD card makes it unreadable by my computer (late 2013 macbook pro). I've tried both the built in SD card reader and using a USB adapter with the same results: "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."
I have not had this problem on my late 2013 MacBook Pro running El Capitan.
Ill see if I can recreate tomorrow at the office while using transcend card.
 

say_oh_shin

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Scottsdale, AZ
Country
United States
Dash Cam
QVIA T790

say_oh_shin

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Location
Scottsdale, AZ
Country
United States
Dash Cam
QVIA T790
Thanks Robert -- sounds good

Also of note, I tested this on my htpc which is running OpenELEC (lightweight Linux distro) and it can mount the SD card (both with USB adapter and built-in card reader). Happy huntings tomorrow
 

Tonymm

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
5
Country
Canada
My T790 had a 16 GB card and I have no problem to read it in my 2010 MacbookPro (El Capitan)
 

Calgary Dash Camera - Robert

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Nov 1, 2013
Messages
547
Reaction score
222
Location
Dayton Nevada & Calgary Alberta
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Lukasdirect.com Street Guardian BulletHD Calgarydashcam.com
Thanks Robert -- sounds good

Also of note, I tested this on my htpc which is running OpenELEC (lightweight Linux distro) and it can mount the SD card (both with USB adapter and built-in card reader). Happy huntings tomorrow
I tested, and found the same result as you.
I am going to test it further tomorrow and see what I can find. 16GB card defiantly works on my Mac
 

Erin Sherman

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Country
United States
Has anybody made any progress on the "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer" error? I just purchased a Qvia R975 and am having the same problem on my early 2011 MacBook Pro which theoretically is supposed to support SDXC cards (I have 128GB SD and 64GB microSD). The weird thing is that both stock 8GB cards (which are formatted as FAT-32 rather than exFAT) worked fine and let me view the videos in VLC. I still can't get the QVIA Viewer software to run on my Mac, although I remember reading somewhere that a fix for that is in the works?

EDIT: I think I may have figured out what was going on. I plugged the chips into a Windows computer and they were read just fine. I then used the Qvia viewer on the Windows computer to format the chip. It looks like that formatted the chip to FAT-32 which is well-tolerated for both the cam and my Mac. Ultimately there seems to be a bug in the camera's firmware where it doesn't format the chip with exFAT in a way that is compatable with Apple's implementation of the exFAT standard. Also, as far as using the Mac Qvia viewer, I was able to get around the problem where the software didn't open after double-clicking by opening Terminal and running the command:

/Applications/R975\ WD.app/Contents/MacOS/*

Note that you'll have to change the name of the bold section to the name of your specific model of camera (which should also be the name of the program on the computer) and make sure to include a \ character before any spaces in the app name as I did above.
 
Last edited:

Calgary Dash Camera - Robert

Active Member
Retailer
Joined
Nov 1, 2013
Messages
547
Reaction score
222
Location
Dayton Nevada & Calgary Alberta
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Lukasdirect.com Street Guardian BulletHD Calgarydashcam.com
I just tested your advice @Erin Sherman on the T790 with a 64GB MicroSD.
It didn't help mount the card on the computer. However, after trying your suggestion. I tried one last thing.
Last week I discovered that the below series of steps and formats fixed regular 8GB SD card that randomly was not reading in my Macbook after being formatted in a Lukas LK-9750.
Luckily it worked. The 64GB MicroSD card is now recognized on my MacBook Pro.

Here is what I did.
Frist format the card in the camera.
Then plug it into your Mac. It will say the "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."
Click "initialize". This will open Disk Utility.
Click the top level of the SD card. (Using my built-in memory card reader. The top level is listed as "APPLE SD Card Reader Media")
Then click the "Erase" button on the top toolbar. A pop-up will open that prompts you to choose 1 of 4 format types.
Select MS-DOS (FAT) and click erase.
Once completed, remove the memory card from your computer.
Insert it back into the camera. Power on the camera.
It will once again say "Formating is on standby, press the left key to format".
Press the left key.
Once the camera completed formatting the card again.
Pop the card back into your mac. It should now finally be readable and mounted properly.
 

Attachments

ejikirus

New Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Country
Russian Federation
I just tested your advice @Erin Sherman on the T790 with a 64GB MicroSD.
It didn't help mount the card on the computer. However, after trying your suggestion. I tried one last thing.
Last week I discovered that the below series of steps and formats fixed regular 8GB SD card that randomly was not reading in my Macbook after being formatted in a Lukas LK-9750.
Luckily it worked. The 64GB MicroSD card is now recognized on my MacBook Pro.

Here is what I did.
Frist format the card in the camera.
Then plug it into your Mac. It will say the "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer."
Click "initialize". This will open Disk Utility.
Click the top level of the SD card. (Using my built-in memory card reader. The top level is listed as "APPLE SD Card Reader Media")
Then click the "Erase" button on the top toolbar. A pop-up will open that prompts you to choose 1 of 4 format types.
Select MS-DOS (FAT) and click erase.
Once completed, remove the memory card from your computer.
Insert it back into the camera. Power on the camera.
It will once again say "Formating is on standby, press the left key to format".
Press the left key.
Once the camera completed formatting the card again.
Pop the card back into your mac. It should now finally be readable and mounted properly.
Confirmed. That's all working great. My i9100 DUO works fine and SD & MicroSD now i can read on my Mac. Thanks.
 

Similar threads


Top