New Blackvue App 2023: HORRID

Triggerfish

Reaction score
Country
United States
What was blackvue thinking with this new app? It's convoluted, and not very user friendly now.. I went to download a video from an incident today and I am almost ready to move away from Blackvue if they are going to stick with this! Trying to find where they hid the "downloaded videos" was beyond frustrating. Then, when I went to download the original video file it took over 5 minutes for a 3-minute video from a DR750X. I thought maybe I needed to manually connect to the wifi, but that didn't help.

I have been using Blackvue for at least 6 years now, and I have always loved the simplicity of the App.

I'm not a fan of the new app either. They're really pushing the whole social media thing and it feels like they're losing focus on why we buy dashcams and what we need the apps for. Seeing other people's videos is fine, I guess, but that stuff should really be secondary if anything.

That said, they shared with me that they are working on an update for the app to include things giving people the option to connect to their dashcam without logging in and making the camera tab the new default. I'm not sure if the update is going to fix the login issues though. We'll see. On iOS it is able to log me back in using FaceID which is nice, but it's silly that I keep getting logged out regardless.

Either way, it feels like the new app is turning into bloatware. I get that dashcam manufacturers want to separate themselves from the pack in terms of features or whatever, but this new app redesign feels like a big letdown.

I'm planning to upgrade to a 360-degree setup in the coming months. I seriously considered BlackVue because of their nice stealthy hardware and remote alerts.