Planning 4 ch with Parking mode

cah027

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all

I am completely new to the dash cam world. I have just started researching this. I have a 2016 Chevy Malibu and I live in Indiana. I would like to have quality front and rear system with Parking mode. I would also like to have 2 channels for the sides, but I am not sure if I would need or want parking mode for the sides. If I could get a less expensive solution for the side with parking mode I would probably do it.

The weather here ranges from very hot to very cold, so I would need something that could withstand the temps. I park in my garage at night so I wouldn't need parking mode then, just for the day while I am parked at work for 9 hours a day.

I would really like to get smaller less expensive cams for the side, but not sure what options I would have for them that are small and have parking mode.

So far for the front and rear (main camera system) I am considering the Blackview dr650gw, Black sys CH-100B, and the Thinkware F770. I can't make up my mind on those. Also without just buying another one of these for the sides, are there any options there?

Also, I was wondering if I will need to get one of the dedicated batteries for this?

Also, is GPS really needed?

Thanks in advance !

**Edit** Just looking at the Thinkware F50 x 2 for the sides and the F770 for the front and rear. What do you think?

Last edited:
I agree, don't see a need for parking mode on the side cameras, what ever cause any grief there will have to pass by front or rear camera first.

Regarding GPS i am myself a big fan, but really it is not needed as your speed before a event can always be calculated from the time it take you to pass between 2 objects you can go and measure the distance between.
And if the right camera in other ways came up but did not have GPS that would not hold me back from buying it.

I would just wire the side cameras up to come on with the turn of the key.