Rearview camera recommendation OR how to set a dash to the back window?

edale

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello. I'm a complete newbie at this whole camera business, but I was recently a victim of a hit-and-run and would like to be prepared from now on.

What confused me is I couldn't find a camera product for the back of the car (there's no cigarette lighter in the back of the car to power the camera!).

I would like the camera to be good enough to capture license plate numbers. I live in the U.S. in case anyone can provide info on where I can buy the equipment(s) I need.

If anyone can provide help in this department, it would be much appreciated! Thank you.

Welcome to DCT edale :) Street Guardian sold in the US by @Pier28 has some very good cameras, and one in particular that would work great. Also, Mobius is an outstanding small camera that works very well in the rear of the vehicle. There are many very good choices, and great information on this site for you. Good luck in your search!

Welcome to DCT edale :) Street Guardian sold in the US by @Pier28 has some very good cameras, and one in particular that would work great. Also, Mobius is an outstanding small camera that works very well in the rear of the vehicle. There are many very good choices, and great information on this site for you. Good luck in your search!

Hello, thank you for the welcome! I just googled Pier28 and am seeing the cameras, so thank you for the website! Any camera in particular you would recommend for the back window?

And if you or anyone else can point me the directions to how I can get it powered from the back, I'd be much obliged. Thanks!

Hello. I'm a complete newbie at this whole camera business, but I was recently a victim of a hit-and-run and would like to be prepared from now on.

What confused me is I couldn't find a camera product for the back of the car (there's no cigarette lighter in the back of the car to power the camera!).