Small dash cam for rental cars

salajander

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi folks - I don't own a car, but do rent frequently, and would like to get a small dash cam to use while driving rentals. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Needs to be relatively small, as I don't want to have to pack something bulky, and use suction mount for ease of installation and removal. It would be nice (but absolutely not necessary) if it had an internal cabin camera I could use as a poor-man's rear cam. Any features after that are great, but I'm completely new to the dash cam world and have no idea what features are out there that I may want.

I'd like to keep it relatively inexpensive, as this is just for a few weeks of rental car usage a year.

The Garmin Dash Cam Mini seems good, I guess. After that, though, there is just a dizzying assortment of models and manufacturers out there, and I'm just hoping for a few suggestions I can pick though.

Thanks!

Welcome to DCT @salajander :)

Though you probably wouldn't use it, the Garmin Mini has parking mode problems in higher heats along with a few lesser reliability issues so I won't recommend it. Otherwise Garmin does build good cams, just not this one. In single-channel cams the Aukey DRA5 Mini is pretty good, also the newer Blueskysea B2W which has excellent image quality- much better than the DRA5. Both come with suction-cup mounts.

In a 2-channel single-unit 'rideshare' cam things get more expensive and most of these are intended for a permanent install so you may have to buy a suction-cup mount, which at least one of these does not have because of it's form-factor. These are not small cams, but can be discreet in appearance.