Some questions about F500LHD

Damiano

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Italy
First of all, I'd like to thank you for all the material available on the main website. I've read all the FAQs and I'm thinking to buy the F500LHD dash cam because it's seems the most suitable cam for me. I have some questions for you:

1) Why do I need to update the firmware of the cam? Better image quality? Resolved issues?
2) I've stumble upon this night video on YT
Is it possible to have this image quality? It seems really different from all night videos of F500LHD on Youtube, maybe the videos has been enhanced?
3)In the video's description there is a reference about a "ISO" menu, I can't find it in the user manual on the website! Is there a ISO menu on the F500LHD options?
Thank you for your time. I see many Russians on this board, thanks to your dashcams we can have videos of the Chelyabinsk's meteor! :D
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DashCamMan

Administrator
Joined
Jun 30, 2012
Messages
2,031
Reaction score
1,066
Country
Canada
Hi Damiano,

I'll try to answer your questions:

1) If you get a recent camera, no need to update firmware. It is risky and only makes sense if there is some glitch with the camera. Most of the time picture quality does not improve with the firmware update.

2) It is very unlikely you will get that video quality. Most F500LHD's are more grainy. There is a lot of ambient light there and perhaps they are using better quality components (lens) and are shooting at a high bit rate.

3) Yes there is an ISO menu. It only applies to photos though, not video.
 
OP
Damiano

Damiano

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2013
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Italy
Thank you very much for your answers! I'm definetely convinced about buying the F500LHD :) I'll post a video test when I get it :D
 

belgian squiggy

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2013
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
colorado
I also have a question. Somewhere on the forums, someone said that they were disappointed because they could not tag or save a video while recording to put it into protected mode. Is this true?
Also, what is the difference between the cameras on the two different ebay sites? Is it a longer cable and extra bracket?
Thanks
 

javr

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2013
Messages
85
Reaction score
2
Country
Slovenia
Dash Cam
GS1000 Saddle SD-GS500 SMH4.36.220812B
I will buy a dashcam. The problem: it will take a 12V-socket, which I need for navigation, too. So, I have to buy something to multiply the 12V-socket. I expected to see some suggestions on pages, where they sell cameras, but no such thing appeared.
Any suggestions here ? Thanks.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
50,661
Reaction score
28,763
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
You can buy double adapters for a few dollars, auto parts stores usually sell them, a neater way is to buy a female socket and wire it in behind the dash to keep it all hidden and leave your existing socket available

www.dx.com is a reliable supplier if you want to buy online
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top