oppconsulting

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
I1000 F70 DVR Dash
i searched so if im wrong delete or move

im far from a expert lets get that out to

but since age 18 i have been installing car radios and alarms then i moved to wireing police lights and other stuff in cars

first get a really good pair of wire strippers this is the kind you want
https://www.ebay.com/itm/181376018876
then a 40 watt soldering iron the higher the wattage the faster and easier it heats the thicker car wires

then get familiar with the local dealer of your make of car you will be asking for wiring diagrams allot

then look over ebay and other web sites for panel tools

the better the set the less damage you will do a good set can remove vents pretty much every part on a car

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trk...nkw=car+panel+removal+tool&_sacat=0&_from=R40

then i use external fuse boxes so not to damage the car computer
https://www.ebay.com/itm/331176184534
this is the type i like easy side plugs but there are better more expensive ones but as long as you use the covered waterproof plug connectors it has always worked

now some explanation on wiring yo want to trace the wire as close to the source (IF your wiring a horn or a camera to turn on off with car power)

you then use the wire strippers gently put the top on the wires and squeeze you will see the cover slide apart if it was done right

then take a wire that goes to what your trying to power

wrap the wire tight carefully heat with soldering iron i dont prefer and type of solder some do

the solder it you will see the solder sink into the wires like water then take it off and find a good tape to wrap it with most electric tape is garbage and will melt after time so dont use that

now the fuse box way most often doesn't require and solder or wire splicing unless the connector

now most cars have two spots you can connect the box the battery or the other connection they say to use jumper cables on