Trying to understand company reputation and privacy values around cloud features

troed

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi!
I am new to the world of dashcams. I've been doing a bunch of research on the various models. I am pretty sure the U1000 by Thinkware hits every possible box. Maybe alternatively I could get whatever the 4K equivalent by BlackVue is. I am not familiar with this, or really any other company however. It seems like BlackVue and Thinkware are the more recognized and reputable brands compared to many others in the field. Between these, which would you find more trust-worthy? One of the reasons I am asking is that many companies offer cloud features, which come with various monitoring and data-exchange implications, and I am worried about the handling of my data. Is there a company that is particularly stand-out in terms of security and user protection?

I don’t trust any company to not mishandle my data. That’s not to say I don’t use any cloud services, but I try to be picky with what I put up in the cloud and how I would feel if it was stolen or leaked online.

I'd be far more interested in the connectivity aspect and cam performance. I doubt that anyone would want to see or tamper with mega-hours of the boring nothing that most dashcam recordings are, and the sd card will have a hard copy anyway. Same as with the internet, nothing which leaves your total control is completely safe- never has been and never will be. Neither of the companies mentioned are known for deeply caring about their customers or even issues they may have; the dealer you're working with is a more important factor there. And no matter who makes or sells it, you're far more likely to encounter functioning issues with a dashcam than any security-related issues.

Phil

Hi!