V3 Rebooting on Startup

FranzWesson

Reaction score
Country
United States
Greetings,

I've been using a dashcam for about 9 months. I bought a generic B40 unit from Aliexpress and found the quality to be... as expected.

In a last-ditch effort to salvage it, I flashed the firmware on it using random firmware I found online and it began an annoying issue where it would intermittently not "boot up" properly upon startup.

The poor nighttime quality was the final nail in the proverbial coffin so I broke down and bought a SG v3 and received it late last week.

Disappointingly, it too has the strange reboot issue. This morning it appeared to reboot three times before it actually came on and began recording. Earlier this weekend the failed boot up issue resulted in a corrupt sdcard, which is something that even my generic B40 didn't do.

Skimming the threads here, I see that a failing sdcard can cause that, but I have tried two: the one I was using with the B40 and the included 32GB sdcard but I get the same result either way.

I experimented (briefly) with the boot delay option to see if it would make any difference in terms of whether or not it would help alleviate issues booting up, but it doesn't seem to make any difference.

Are there any other things I could try? I am hard-wired in so I plan to break out the cigarette lighter cord and give it a whirl, but thought I'd ask here to see if I'm missing something.

I also am going to flip-flop my add-a-circuit with my radar detector (also hardwired in) to see if that makes any difference.

Any other ideas I could try? Am I missing something obvious?

Btw, I appear to be running the latest firmware that is posted on the website.

Thanks

If this is happening with two different cameras then the problem is more likely with the power that is running to them such as an intermittent voltage dropout from your vehicle.