Viofo A129 WiFi not showing up... in car

TheImmortal

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Constanta
Country
Romania
Hi,

I've recently hooked the 129 Duo, via a HK3, on my Focus MK3, just to find out that the wifi does NOT show up when connected...most of the time. Like 98% of the time; and in the 2 percent it does, it's not connectable. I've tried this on the 1.9 firmware, with both my Note9 and wifey's Mate20 lite, with both data on/off, and with the same results.

The weird thing is that, once i bring the camera to my PC and connect it via the 'long' USB, wifi works fine.

Wth is the issue? :/


Thank you.
 

Leonauto

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2013
Messages
360
Reaction score
389
Location
Smolensk
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
StreetStorm A7810-G_Pro, B1W, B2W, Viofo A119 PRO, A119 V3
So you do not have a Wi-Fi network that A129 should create, or your devices can not connect to A129 through the application? What does “WiFi not showing up... in car” mean?
And can you explain what a "long" USB is and what prevents you from checking through a "long USB" in a car? Maybe GPS trackers, radio stations or other powerful sources of radio emission are installed and working in your car?
 
OP
T

TheImmortal

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Constanta
Country
Romania
The A129 does not create the wifi, yes. Or, if it does create it, it's only partially visible.

The camera comes with two USB cables: the power-on, long cable, and the 'usb device' cable; using the first one to a PC or charger gets the wifi network setup properly (and visible by my phones), whereas in the car, i can't get the network to show up. I'll try to power it from the long cable and an usb charger instead of the hk3, to see if its isolated to the hk3 module. I've tried multiple locations too to no avail.

LE: I'm coming from a fairly basic 70mai whose WiFi had no issues, so i'd doubt it could be pinned on 'devices from my car'.
 

viofo

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
1,008
Reaction score
1,959
Location
Shenzhen
Country
China
Dash Cam
A129 Pro / A129 Duo / A119 V3 / A119S / G1W-S / WR1/
Please use the long USB cable for power on and recording, can you show a short video about the issue?
 
OP
T

TheImmortal

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Constanta
Country
Romania
I'm aiming at using the HK3 kit for power on and recording (permanently), that's why i paid for it and for the install. I'll try getting a clip going on and compare the wifi performance in-car on hk3 vs original 'long' usb cable.
 
OP
T

TheImmortal

New Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Constanta
Country
Romania
Well, new development - the WiFi SSID is NOT showing in car with the long, provided-with-the-camera USB cable either, regardless of where it gets power from: car's USB or through the lighter adapter that was provided with the camera. Which is a brain fart, since that same cable works with that same camera when connected from PC.
However, through multiple attempts, i gave it a go with a 5 Ghz network and...surprise-surprise, that shows up everywhere.

Since my phones are new enough and I don't need the extended coverage the 2.4Ghz variants comes with, i'll work with that. Hopefully we get the G-sensor to work and maybe the lock on events triggered by it; that'll make me a happy camper.
 

Similar threads


Top