What Makes This Cam's Videos So Good?

DroMike

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
BlackVue DR900S (pending)
I'm new to dashcams and am about to pull the trigger on my first: one of the two flagship BlackVue models. However, I can't get over the fact that in every video I see on YouTube, the A119 series of dashcams seem to show absolutely crystal-clear and stellar videos, and all for 1/4 the price of the BVs (of course the A119 is only a 1-channel cam while the BVs are 2-channels). To confuse matters more, I've recently heard about the imminent release of the A129, a 2-channel Viofo camera, so I'm still hanging in waiting to fully vet that out when it arrives - especially because I'd suspect it would be a spectacular value.

Still, the bottom line and my question is, what makes the A119's camera so good that it seems to be the best (or at least one of the best) out there?

Thanks. - Mike

Blackvue have always been about features and design, not so much about video quality, the 900 is the first one that looks ok, the others are pretty ordinary

It's one of the best visual quality cams for the price (and getting slightly cheaper). I wonder if it'll get cheaper still when the A129 comes out

I almost wanna buy a car just to buy an A129

Two features that caught my attention on the Viofo A119S was the layers of glass lens and the Sony processor.
They both have a direct effect on the quality of image.
Update: Nigel is correct, I should have stated Sony sensor not processor.

Last edited:
Two features that caught my attention on the Viofo A119S was the layers of glass lens and the Sony processor.
They both have a direct effect on the quality of image.
It's a Sony sensor, Novatek processor, all three can have a significant effect on image quality. Maybe the lens is the most significant, you wont find good multi-coatings and aspheric elements in older/less good dashcams and lenses often go out of focus when they warm up in sunshine.