ThinkWare F750 DIY Hardwire Possible?

Paul Mumby

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hey, so I just bought an F750 for my Ford F150. Love the camera so far. But I'd love to hard-wire it to get advantage of the parking mode features (and simpler, cleaner install).

I'm assuming there are no special electronics in the hardwire kit, simply conductors for +12V, GND, and Switched signal...

Is the power cable in the cigarette lighter adapter fully wired? In otherwords can I simply cut the wire and splice that into the fuse panel to hard-wire it?

I've looked at local dealers, and bestbuy doesn't do installs anymore apparently, and nobody carries the hardwire adapter. Even on Amazon it's saying "out of stock". Also I'm about to leave on a road trip for 2 weeks. And if I can hardwire it in the next 48h, that would be nice.

I'm an electronics engineer, so I can do the install myself no problem, just wanted to be sure if the adapter is fully wired or not before cutting it up. (sometimes manufacturers will leave a connector partially wired, to cut costs).

Anyone know?

Thanks!

Hey, so I just bought an F750 for my Ford F150. Love the camera so far. But I'd love to hard-wire it to get advantage of the parking mode features (and simpler, cleaner install).

I'm assuming there are no special electronics in the hardwire kit, simply conductors for +12V, GND, and Switched signal...

Is the power cable in the cigarette lighter adapter fully wired? In otherwords can I simply cut the wire and splice that into the fuse panel to hard-wire it?

I've looked at local dealers, and bestbuy doesn't do installs anymore apparently, and nobody carries the hardwire adapter. Even on Amazon it's saying "out of stock". Also I'm about to leave on a road trip for 2 weeks. And if I can hardwire it in the next 48h, that would be nice.