Pics that make you smile

PUUUUUuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuSSSSSSSSssssssssssHHHHHHHhhhhhhhh SHOVE :confused:

Mamil or MAMIL (an acronym standing for "middle-aged man in lycra".) is a middle aged man who rides an expensive racing bicycle for leisure, wearing professional style body-hugging bicycle jerseys and bicycle shorts.

I never really understood the ridicule aimed at these people until I started driving for a living and got to observe them. They look bloody ridiculous and they are in a fantasy world imagining that they are racing in the Tour de France, and that what they are wearing is in any way appropriate for what they are doing.

It has been below freezing here in the mornings, and I still see cyclists in their skin-tight leggings. Now I'm fully aware that going flat out they would be sweating even if they were completely naked.
But they are not going flat out continuously. They are not in a race. They are working their way through traffic which not only slows them down but creates risk of accidents. How much protection will lycra give them if they crash? None. How in the name of God do they imagine that lycra makes more sense than a simple pair of jeans? I've never experienced any difficulty riding in jeans, what kind of hardship do they think it would cause them?

To choose clothing that is designed to give you a few percent increase in speed rather than something that offers protection is insane, especially in cold weather with icy roads in busy town traffic.

What really annoys me is that these are not simply people who are going about their business and choosing a cycle as their means of going about it. These are people engaging in a hobby and imposing themselves on others in the process.

For the record, I do see plenty of people who are going about their business and choosing a cycle as their means of going about it. And I have every respect for them. They tend to be better behaved and less beligerent, for one thing.