Home CCTV - NAS or NVR?

TonyM

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
A139, M1S
I'm completely new to this subject so any advice would be welcome.

I'd like to install one or perhaps two CCTV cameras at the front of my house. I already have a Synology NAS which runs software that can control ONVIF cameras and store recordings on its internal drive. I understand I can do this with cameras wired direct into the router, or with Wi-Fi cameras on the router network.

We already keep all of our important files on the Synology NAS, and access is limited to our home network for security reasons. We don't use any of the cloud storage or Internet file sharing services on it.

Will the security of our files be reduced by connecting CCTV cameras to the NAS, either wired or wireless? If the cameras are wired, isn't there a network cable sticking out through our wall that gives access to our files?

I do have a number of security features turned on within the NAS. No default admin or guest accounts, just the two of us (I'm an admin).

Would I be better off buying a separate NVR that I can keep in a safe place?

I agree that a separate NVR solution would be the best approach for security as well as having a dedicated HDD of one or more terabytes to hold weeks or more of files.

As for concerns about a network cable sticking out through your wall, this is usually addressed by installing your wiring inside some form of conduit. The conduit also protects from the elements.

conduit2.jpg

conduit.jpg

Last edited:
Thanks for the replies.

Reading reviews on a number of dedicated NVR products, the quality and support seem to be frequent issues.

Since I like the Synology products so much, I suppose one option would be to buy a second NAS to use for internet facing functions, separate from my personal files. I could use that as a NVR, and also for cloud storage like backing up photos from my phone. Maybe.