Can someone explain why sensor size isn't reflected in image quality?

loofer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm fairly new to dashcams but I'm looking for a good quality camera with a screen and a moveable base for under £140, primarily interested in image quality with little need for additional features.

I'm looking at Mio Mivue, Garmin, Vicovation and Nextbase cameras and noticed that most use 2-4MP sensors but the Nextbase 512GW uses a 6.8MP one. I know there are other factors involved but that's such a huge step up I would expect next generation clarity and yet the footage doesn't really look much different from it's near rivals. Can anyone explain this, maybe it's just Youtube compressing the footage so the advantage can't be seen but I don't really buy into that.

Are you looking at the video on a Full HD display, or a 4K display?

A Full HD display only has 2MP resolution so can't display all the detail from a 6.8MP sensor.
Most people view YouTube at 1080 or lower resolution even if they have a 4K resolution display.
Most people record at FHD anyway, in which case there is no point having a sensor with more than 2MP resolution.

Image quality is more related to the size of the pixels on the sensor, the bigger the pixels the better the image quality, the lower the noise and the more sensitivity in low light and thus less motion blur. Given that the sensors in most dashcams are very similar sizes, the more mega pixels on the sensor the smaller the pixels have to be to fit on. Thus high megapixel sensors give noisier and worse quality images, especially in low light conditions. The only advantage of a high megapixel sensor is better resolution if there is enough light to avoid motion blur, and if your display is high enough resolution to display it.