Choosing a First Dash Cam

Belial88

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm sure you guys get this a lot, but the market seems to change so much, and there's so many good choices it appears.

I drive ~50k miles/yr, so I think I need something a little nicer than the average dash cam for accidents, cool stuff, self insurance, and theft/hit&run stuff. I frequently do many, short trips each day as well, ie multiple ~3 minute drives consecutively for hours on end. I'm a delivery driver, so security is important to me (that and I do lots of quick, short drives). I live in a big city, but do many cross country, interstate, etc drives as well.
  • I'd prefer under $100
  • Auto Start/Off is Important
  • Don't care for GPS (I don't see the need, have smartphone)
  • Don't need ability to transfer between cars, it'll just be in a single car (besides, even $100 isn't so much that I couldn't get a 2nd one)
  • I'm not sure on power sources, but I'm familiar enough with electronics that I would't have a problem making my own battery pack.
  • Theft Protection/Parked Protection is a feature I'd appreciate (ie motion sensor, etc, I see some dash cams have stuff for when car is parked. Is the LED Security light even useful? lol)
  • Overheating is not a concern. First, I live on the East Coast US, ie ~20-100*F/-4-30*C, and secondly I do a lot of computer modding and overclocking. What this means is that I would have no problem ripping a cam open and replacing the heat sinks on it with an improved thermal compound and larger, copper sinks.
  • Audio would be nice for stuff like cop stops, robberies, and road rage.
  • I don't know how useful a video screen would be. It sounds useful for something like playback to a cop on the scene, but I mean you can always email it (ie hey i have it recorded, let me email it, would probably be enough to convince the cop of where fault lies for the moment being). I mean you tell me how useful it would be to me.