Dash cam design and distribution is horrible ....why?

cdxp

Reaction score
Country
Thailand
I understand I'm a newbie but I'm very curious why the dash cam market is so fragmented and frankly dodgy. The market opportunity is huge but nobody seems to want to do it properly. It seems a bit like the MP3 player market before Apple came along and set some standards. 100s of different devices but horrible design and no usability considerations. The expensive devices are often the same electronics and terrible firmware as the cheap devices but in a bigger box. I'm no fan of Apple but they did change the ways things are done.
Why aren't any of the big players grabbing this opportunity. Is it like action cameras where they see it as a passing fad ? Or is it assumed that the car manufacturers are just going to build this technology into new models so its not worth the effort.

The truly obvious thing to me is to separate the sensor and the the rest of the technology so a small unobtrusive sensor/lens assembly can be stuck to directly the screen giving the best image and avoiding all these rubbish mountings horrible reflections etc and putting the cards batteries and recorder and intelligence in the glove box or under the dash.

Then use some decent sensors that work in low light.. You can buy much better video recording technology from Sony Panasonic Nikon etc albeit in larger form factors for about the same price so the tech exists.

I walk around my local shopping centre where there are 4 camera shops selling a large variety of branded cameras (how large can the personal camera market be when everyone has a smart phone?) and yet dash cams are sold from the stores selling mobile phone chargers or poorly designed websites.

I would never use a phone to take picture if i can use a real camera, actually i would prefer if i could get a cheaper phone without any cameras in it.