Looking to buy a dash cam for my dad

DashCamCurious

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hey, I have no experience with dash cams, but my dad asked me to help him find one. This would be for a 2019 Ford F-150 XLT SuperCab truck. He isn't sure if he wants a 1 channel or 2 channel setup, but is leaning more towards the former. An in-cabin facing camera isn't something that interests him. Parking features are something he'd like. Price range is probably <$500 with the aim of getting the best image quality for that.

One of the big obstacles we're having when looking up cameras is the reliance on network connections. My dad does use a smartphone, but he doesn't have a data plan, so I'm not sure how usable the ones without screens would be given the circumstances. He also parks overnight in the city, so there is a concern that the camera might attract thieves, too.

He likes the look of the FITCAMX and the install seems as easy as can be (at least for a single channel setup - I don't know how easy it would be to do 2 channel or hardwire it for the parking mode - can it even do the latter? The Amazon listing says no, yet their own website says it can ...), but the reviews are kind of dicey. Lots of people trash the app (thankfully, that doesn't seem to be required despite the lack of a screen), but more importantly, the recording time seems weirdly limited. I also notice they're not bragging about having a Starvis 2 sensor so image quality might not be up to the competitors.

Any recommendations for what he's looking for? I know there's lot of love for the Viofos (when he asked me about dash cams, they were my first thought), but they have a bunch of models and I'm not sure which would be the best for his use case. I'm likely going to be the one who installs it and as I said, I have zero experience with doing this. I've never played with the fusebox of that truck either. Something that doesn't drive me crazy would be nice, haha.