Looking for a well-hidden dash cam (concerned about theft issues)

szh

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
SG9665GC on order
Hi, all.

I am a newbie when it comes to dash cams, and am investigating to get one for my son's car (mine has built-in capabilities luckily).

He is primarily concerned about break-ins to steal the dash cam ... when he is parked in San Francisco, or Oakland, CA, for example, and wants something that is internal battery operated if possible.

Leaving items in "plain sight" is an invitation for a window to be broken, and he is concerned that he (a) will forget to hide the unit or (b) not be able to use parking mode ... his car was backed into when parked, and the perps took off!

I have looked at some "mirror" attached cams (with "replacement" mirror functions), but they don't seem to be well-made or work that well (at least the ones I looked at), or are pretty large (screens of 9+") that could be too big for his 2 door coupe.

So ... what would people recommend?

I should note that I bought a Street Guardian unit years ago, but never ended up installing it ... medical issues intervened, and I cannot find it anymore. :(

This stealth issue was one of the reasons I bought the Viofo A119 in the first place. Compared to the large 'bricks hanging off stalks' it was a very neat and discrete installation.

If you have a car with a large windscreen black dot area it can be installed with just the lens sticking out underneath, then when parking drop the sun visor to mostly hide it from view from the side windows.

The miniscule Garmin Mini 2 would fit the bill, but it's twice the price it should be and records a maximum resolution of 1080p. It's still worth considering though.

The last thing you need in California is an internal battery. A supercapacitor is essential in hot climates (which seems to be 75% of the United States these days).