Multiple camera setup

ronaldklijsen

Reaction score
Country
Netherlands
Hi everyone,
I'm having troubles with my MioJ85 (front) + A30 (rear) dashcam setup. I found out, recordings were not trustworthy. Sometimes, I had no recordings at all, sometimes a gap of 10 seconds between recordings files.
Today, I found out, i'm only having this trouble if I connect the rear dashcam (A30).

I guess when 2 camera's are streaming/writing at the same time to the same SD card (like in this Mio setup), is just asking for trouble. But I'm not a expert off course! :)

So, I was wondering, does other brands which offer a dual camera setup, also writes to 1 SD card like this Mio setup? Or, maybe they are using 2 SD cards?
Are there other people out there which experince the same trouble (regardless of the brand dashcam that is used), as I do, when using a multiple camera setup?

Like to hear from you!

Rear cameras have been known to cause problems due to faulty wire / plug, so try to unplug that.

All cameras write to 1 memory card, even the new Vantrue N5 which are a 4 channel system. there are or at least was a few Lukas brand cameras that had 2 memory cards, but TBH i think that is a done deal in 2023.

Hi Kamkar,
thanks for the quick reply.

So, we may assume it has been proven multiple camera's can write smoothly to 1 sd card, right?

It's going to be a software (or maybe hardware) problem of the Mio then.
I forgot to mention, I tried 4 different brands SD cards (Samsung, Kingston, Transcend and Lexar) so that is ruled out :)

Hi Kamkar,
thanks for the quick reply.

So, we may assume it has been proven multiple camera's can write smoothly to 1 sd card, right?

It's going to be a software (or maybe hardware) problem of the Mio then.
I forgot to mention, I tried 4 different brands SD cards (Samsung, Kingston, Transcend and Lexar) so that is ruled out :)