New 0806 owner with questions

Ray1968

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mini 0806
Hey all. Newbie here...

Just picked up a Mini 0806 from amazon and have a few questions I'm hoping someone can answer.

1) Will the unit charge while hooked up to my computer via the USB cable?

2) When the unit is hooked up to my computer via USB the screen is blue with "USB Connecting..." on it and never changes. Is this normal?

3) I briefly hooked the camera up in my vehicle and recorded two short clips. One is 11 seconds, the other 3 seconds. I copied both files to my computer and when I look at the properties, it shows both clips as being exactly 20 megs in size. Is this normal?

4) The sticky tape for mounting has a red side and a white side. Does it matter which side goes to the windshield?

I guess that's all I have for now. I'm currently using the little 8 gig card that came with the cam, but I have a 64 gig SanDisk Ultra coming in tomorrow from amazon. I wouldn't have ordered the SanDisk had I read these forums first. I'll format in FAT32 and hope for the best...

Thanks for any help.

1. I think so, though it also charges while you use it with the power cord in your car
2. yes. I can't personally think of a reason why you would need to do that as you can take out the SD card and read it via a uSD card reader.
3. I have to admit, I never really looked at the file sizes so I can not tell you for sure if they all will be the same size (as you define how many minutes to record in each file).
4. Both sides are stick. Just make sure you peel the covers off both sides.