NEW Product out now! VICO-WF1, WIFI!!

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
I'm thinking that the occasional memory card error may just be a dash cam fact of life?
I really hope not because if you do not catch the memory card error prompt or notice the blinking and something happens it would not go over well for sure.

I liked ur pic CheckYourLights just because that WF1 is so gosh darn pretty...haha! ;)
Ha Thanks

I think sandisk always have problem.
In korea, It is not recommanded brand cause they use cheap nand flash.
Trancend is better.
I never had an issue with SanDisk before, and still use the regular sized SD Ultra in my TF2 with no issues.

It's my WF1 and G1W that do not seem to like them. The Sandisk card I tried to reboot with and kept getting the error until i formated it with my Android phone.

My Trancend card was okay all morning through two car switches and then a third time threw the error once. I rebooted and everything was okay.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Icemonkey

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
Australia
Hi All,

I've had my VicoVation WF1 for about a week now. I've noticed that when I go through an area with trees, the video becomes quite blocky/pixelated. Is there a way to fix this? Some examples...they're on Flickr so I can't direct link :(

Trees
https://secure.flickr.com/photos/118372981@N02/12691932103/
https://secure.flickr.com/photos/118372981@N02/12691779795/

Not many trees
https://secure.flickr.com/photos/118372981@N02/12692269444/

So when there are no trees around even on the very edge of the view where it is most distored by the wide angle I can still easily make out number plates (the black is just to protect the innocent :)). The pictures are cropped to make them smaller.

Is this something that happens to all dashcams? Or do I possibly have a dud? Basically everything in the video becomes quite poor. You can't make out detail on the road like you can when there are few trees around. All 3 pictures are from the same day.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gse

gse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
549
Reaction score
443
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
ТDR-718/ Viofo 119S/ VicoWF1
Video can be on the exchanger and a link to the forum.
 

JayTee

Active Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
105
Reaction score
58
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
VicoVation WF1
Hi All,

I've had my VicoVation WF1 for about a week now. I've noticed that when I go through an area with trees, the video becomes quite blocky/pixelated. Is there a way to fix this? Some examples...they're on Flickr so I can't direct link :(

Trees
https://secure.flickr.com/photos/118372981@N02/12691932103/
https://secure.flickr.com/photos/118372981@N02/12691779795/

Not many trees
https://secure.flickr.com/photos/118372981@N02/12692269444/

So when there are no trees around even on the very edge of the view where it is most distored by the wide angle I can still easily make out number plates (the black is just to protect the innocent :)). The pictures are cropped to make them smaller.

Is this something that happens to all dashcams? Or do I possibly have a dud? Basically everything in the video becomes quite poor. You can't make out detail on the road like you can when there are few trees around. All 3 pictures are from the same day.
I haven't noticed that with mine - but first things first, do you have a genuine (i.e., not eBay or Amazon-sourced, but a reputable seller), high quality, Class 10 card in the cam? Second, there are so many factors that might cause artifacts (when I first looked at your stills, I wondered if your windshield was dirty! No doubt the pixelation is more obvious in the video), I wouldn't necessarily assume that there is an issue with the cam, but I would suggest you contact your vendor or VicoVation service (start with your vendor) - if there is an issue with the WF1 you won't be able to fix it, so you should inquire about a warranty replacement.
 

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
Are you updated to the latest firmware? I think 1.51
 

JayTee

Active Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
105
Reaction score
58
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
VicoVation WF1
Last edited by a moderator:

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
I know that the update greatly improves night time video quality. So hopefully Icemonkey will see some daytime improvement as well.
 

Icemonkey

New Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
Australia
I haven't noticed that with mine - but first things first, do you have a genuine (i.e., not eBay or Amazon-sourced, but a reputable seller), high quality, Class 10 card in the cam? Second, there are so many factors that might cause artifacts (when I first looked at your stills, I wondered if your windshield was dirty! No doubt the pixelation is more obvious in the video), I wouldn't necessarily assume that there is an issue with the cam, but I would suggest you contact your vendor or VicoVation service (start with your vendor) - if there is an issue with the WF1 you won't be able to fix it, so you should inquire about a warranty replacement.
I bought it from http://dashcamsaustralia.com.au. Not the best looking site in the world but they seem legit. The camera works OK with with VicoViewer application so I guess it should be legit? It came with a Samsung 16GB Class 10 Micro SDHC card. I could try another card and see if that does the trick. The pixelation is quite obvious. In the 2 screenshots I didn't obscure those number plates. That's from the actual video. It looks like I've run a blur filter over them but haven't :(

Are you updated to the latest firmware? I think 1.51
I think so. I have the options for auto WiFi disable, etc. So I think I'm running 1.51. I think these were new features of the 1.51 firmware reading the wish list thread.

It sounds very much like this issue on the BlackVue DR500GW. So it could just be the device can't handle the amount of data there is to process with all the tree branches around the place and the shade/light constant changes. Looking at Techmoan's review it was the same in his videos. So its probably just the way it is.
 

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
I think so. I have the options for auto WiFi disable, etc. So I think I'm running 1.51. I think these were new features of the 1.51 firmware reading the wish list thread.
Yeah that sounds like the latest firmware. Maybe something is just wrong with the camera. DashCams.Australia is a member here, and hopefully they can get things sorted for you.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DashCams.Australia

Member
Retailer
Joined
May 30, 2013
Messages
52
Reaction score
22
Location
Melbourne
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
VicoVation | BlackVue | FineVu | Lukas | Urive | Livue | DOD
Hi Icemonkey,

I have just sent you a PM. Check your inbox. We will call you to work through it.

Thanks
 

gse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
549
Reaction score
443
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
ТDR-718/ Viofo 119S/ VicoWF1
Погода хорошая, 130 км / ч, количество встречного.
Оригинальное видео 75 Мб:
http://yadi.sk/d/_EJdztOxJX59f
 

gse

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2013
Messages
549
Reaction score
443
Country
Russian Federation
Dash Cam
ТDR-718/ Viofo 119S/ VicoWF1
"Нико, сообщение: 51612, членом: 1443"]? Какую прошивки был использован, 1,51 или 1,53
Firmware 1.51.
At 1.53 Fixed compatibility with maps and other changes not.
 

niko

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
10,610
Reaction score
6,503
Location
Dublin
Country
Ireland
Dash Cam
Street Guardian UK / EU / EEA Distributor
Firmware 1.51.
At 1.53 Fixed compatibility with maps and other changes not.

Maps :confused: ? GPS ?
Hehe, ok, I know what you mean - memory cards compability ;)
Google tanslates second meaning from Russian @ memory card vs maps ;)

Spasibo ( Thanks ).
 
Last edited:

Revivor

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Country
Australia
I bought it from http://dashcamsaustralia.com.au. Not the best looking site in the world but they seem legit. The camera works OK with with VicoViewer application so I guess it should be legit? It came with a Samsung 16GB Class 10 Micro SDHC card. I could try another card and see if that does the trick. The pixelation is quite obvious. In the 2 screenshots I didn't obscure those number plates. That's from the actual video. It looks like I've run a blur filter over them but haven't :(



I think so. I have the options for auto WiFi disable, etc. So I think I'm running 1.51. I think these were new features of the 1.51 firmware reading the wish list thread.

It sounds very much like this issue on the BlackVue DR500GW. So it could just be the device can't handle the amount of data there is to process with all the tree branches around the place and the shade/light constant changes. Looking at Techmoan's review it was the same in his videos. So its probably just the way it is.
Hi Icemonkey,

I have similar issues as yours. Did you get yours resolved?
I bought mine off Dashcams Australia as well just over a week ago. I've tested it and it seems to be pixelated going around suburbs with lotsa trees.
I've checked mine has FW1.51 with Wifi auto off etc.
Its clear with no trees and even with the sun shining onto the camera.
With trees:
Tree 3.jpg Trees 1.jpg Trees 2.jpg
With no trees:
No Tree 1.jpg
 
Last edited:
Top