New to buy DashCam

Iyumon

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’m very new to purchasing a dashcam for my 2017 Nissan Versa Note SV. I’ve moved to a not-quitely-safe area, and so I want to protect my car from damage and insurance loss. I most definitely want to have cameras for ALL views; front, rear, and sides. I understand the prices can be high and I want to get affordable ones if possible!

I was recommended to check Dash Cam Talk and after reading some of the forums, I feel that you will be very helpful to recommend some cameras. I would also like to know if it’s possible (and easy) for me to install on my own instead of needing to use professional help. I won’t mind having professional help, but if it’s better and safer for me to do it myself, I’d love advice from you!

While video quality and storage space are important, parking mode is most important to me because I’m most concerned when my car is parked during the night and can be vulnerable to anyone. I’m also curious about the battery issues. Which out of these – batteries, capacitors, battery banks, or power packs - would be best for me in saving power or easy to manage or not taking so much battery?

I’ve attached pictures of the windows in hopes that will help you narrow the picks. Hope they will help!

As I said, I’m new to this and I welcome all advice!

20190603_130826.jpg20190603_130834.jpg20190603_130839.jpg20190603_130857.jpg20190603_134202-1.jpg

How many hours per day you usually drive?

Welcome to the forum Iyuman.

As niko touch upon then if you want to run parking guard in your car, then you also have to drive some so the car can charge up what is lost while while it is not moving.
So if you just drive 1 hour a day and expect to be running parking guard the remaining 23 hours you are in for a surprise.

I drive a similar little 5 door hatchback, so in regard to camera placement i have good news.