Newbie with an interesting question.... unable to find concrete answer.

honhon

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey all... newbie here... trying to get some information prior to doing my order....

My plan is the

Mobius Actioncam in my 2014 forte koup turbo and possible an additional unit in my wife's optima

im debating on the mounting system... i saw a picture from when someone removed a suction cup mount for a transponder at a race track when they went to a track day... and it cracked his windshield when he took it off...

is this a common issue? also i have a tint stripe at the top of the windshield so i dont know if the tint will also affect the suction cup?

ive been debating to make go with a rear view mirror (handle bar style) mount

also, i cant find concrete answers on power.... my first plan was the original idea of the cig lighter plug, but then i eventually found myself looking up 12v to 5v converters with a male mini USB plug coming out it... meaning you wire it into 12v and then it puts out 5v of the mini usb powering the camera...

i saw where some people have wired this type of unit into the power of the moon roof system, which my wife's optima has and i know the power draw will be minimal from the camera on that system...

but with my car, the only switched power i have is the homelink powered mirror with the auto dimming and programmable buttons.

so my question is this... does the mobius draw little enough power to where i can use the homelink powered mirror power and ground?

i saw a few vehicle specific forums where someone did it, but i would rather come to a forum where all the talk is about the cameras to get as much knowledge as i can prior to placing my order.

thank you for any and all help, i did search and the search function is great, but i didnt see anyone talking about specifics for what i was looking for.