Power magic pro and b-124

Rensteruk

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Swindon
Country
United Kingdom
All,

I've got a 650s-2ch hard wired via PMP. However i still don't get enough record time to last the day or night before the power is cut. I'm going to check the PMP settings but i think it's set to 12v and infinite time.

Im thinking a b-124 battery pack might be a better idea. However, to keep installation simple i was thinking rather than try to source a 12v acc source in the passenger foot well where the PMP is located, i could chain the battery pack off the PMP but set the PMP to 12.5v so it'll only be live when the engine is running.

Does this sound doable? What sort of connections does the b-124 come with? Are they the same connectors as on the PMP / cameras themselves?

Thanks in advance!
 

blazn420

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2018
Messages
92
Reaction score
32
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Country
United States
Dash Cam
BlackVue DR750S-2CH, B-124 Battery
If you get the B-124 there is no reason to have the PMP, you can always use the power socket connection for the B-124. B-124 comes with a standard power socket connection, and also includes a set of fuse taps for a direct connection that charges faster.
 
OP
R

Rensteruk

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Swindon
Country
United Kingdom
I know there's no need for the pmp... I'm saying that *if* in my intended installation location i can't find an acc feed, i think i could connect to the pmp and effectively turn a live 12v connection into an acc feed.... but need to know if the supplied wiring options would support my plans
 

Ralph2

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
868
Reaction score
272
Location
Edmonton AB
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
BlackVue 650GW in 2011 Highlander
Just a guess but the B-124 might draw more power to charge it than the existing PMP and fuse can supply. What is the recommended fuse size for the B-124 installation, if it is more than ~ 5 amps I would be concerned.
 

blazn420

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2018
Messages
92
Reaction score
32
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Country
United States
Dash Cam
BlackVue DR750S-2CH, B-124 Battery
I know there's no need for the pmp... I'm saying that *if* in my intended installation location i can't find an acc feed, i think i could connect to the pmp and effectively turn a live 12v connection into an acc feed.... but need to know if the supplied wiring options would support my plans
I understand now.

I believe the PMP is using two fuse taps, one for ACC and one for always on. Just use the ACC fuse tap you currently have on your PMP and connect that straight to your B-124 with the provided cable as long as the ACC circuit is 15A or higher. The B-124 comes with fuse taps and extra fuses, I would just completely disconnect your PMP and hardwire to the ACC port you currently use for your PMP.
 
Last edited:
OP
R

Rensteruk

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Swindon
Country
United Kingdom
I understand now.

I believe the PMP is using two fuse taps, one for ACC and one for always on. Just use the ACC fuse tap you currently have on your PMP and connect that straight to your B-124 with the provided cable as long as the ACC circuit is 15A or higher. The B-124 comes with fuse taps and extra fuses, I would just completely disconnect your PMP and hardwire to the ACC port you currently use for your PMP.
Just a guess but the B-124 might draw more power to charge it than the existing PMP and fuse can supply. What is the recommended fuse size for the B-124 installation, if it is more than ~ 5 amps I would be concerned.
Hmmm that's a good point... might be an issue, thanks for the suggestion!
 
OP
R

Rensteruk

New Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Swindon
Country
United Kingdom
I understand now.

I believe the PMP is using two fuse taps, one for ACC and one for always on. Just use the ACC fuse tap you currently have on your PMP and connect that straight to your B-124 with the provided cable as long as the ACC circuit is 15A or higher. The B-124 comes with fuse taps and extra fuses, I would just completely disconnect your PMP and hardwire to the ACC port you currently use for your PMP.
Ahh that's interesting, I'd assumed the PMP only went to the live... i guess I'll just have to go digging and put a meter on the feeds...

Thanks for your help!
 

Similar threads


Top