Rain and Dashcam Visibility

SonOfKorhal

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
VIOFO A229 Pro 2ch
It has been raining, and I wanted to know if you know of good recommendations to keep visibility for dashcams (e.g., cars that do not have rear wipers/wipers that reach).
Thank you in advance.

I’m sure everyone has their own favorite brand of water repellent.
@Paul Iddon How has that stuff you’ve been using working out?

I’ve been using Rain-X since 1993.
I apply 3 coats on every piece of window glass, (front, rear, all side windows).
It lasts about a month, which is fine because it doesn’t rain that often in my region.
Here’s highway test footage of my 2010 Mercury Grand Marquis with a 4 channel dash cam, (two Viofo A129 Plus units).
Please forgive the lens adjustment, this was before I learned the importance of 50/50 road & sky.
By sheer coincidence “November Rain” just happen to be playing the radio while I was channel surfing. Lol

Here’s only the rear window;

Here’s road testing Rain-X vs. Nu Finish;

Here’s what the angle of my windows look like;

@BlackboxMyCar sent me some of these for test & review;
https://www.blackboxmycar.com/products/aqua-shield
I can see how these could be a life saver in the rainy / snowy Pacific Northwest.
For my application where it rarely rains I prefer to use Rain-X.
-Chuck

Nu finish :) In Danish Nu mean Now.

Back on track, yeah nothing to do but use one of the many water repelling formulas, if you have side cameras it is also all you can do there.
I praise myself lucky i have a rear wiper and it reach the very top of the rear window, where i would have a single rear camera if i was not having several systems in my car, so it become a bit of a mess back there and absolutely not stealthy.

(e.g., cars that do not have rear wipers).
Replace the car with one that is sensibly designed with a rear wiper!

(e.g., cars that do not have wipers that reach).