semi experienced user, need some suggestions.

bassmechanic

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
blackvue
OK a little background. I am an insurance agent by trade, I recommend to all my clients to get a dash cam!

my ONLY experience so far has been blackvue I have one in all 3 of my cars.

the newest model I have is at least 3 years old and is a 2-channel unit.

I recently traded in my 2014 Cadillac CTS V sport for the 2017 CTS-V

my problem is this, the new car has the performance data recorder (not something I would have ordered the car with)

in my last Caddy I mounted the camera right below the base of the black plastic part the rear-view mirror attaches to. in the new car, the PDR camera hangs roughly in the same location behind the rear-view mirror. if I put my black view there it will pretty much block the entire view of the PDR making it useless!

while I do not plan to track the car anyway, I felt like if I go ahead and mount it there I can always just unplug the front camera, remove it from the mount and allow the PDR to see the road ahead.

however, I feel like even as easy as this is ill likely never even bother to use it if I have to go through any more trouble than to activate it as normal by pressing the PDR button on the screen and "record" if I have to remove a camera from the windshield I probably won't bother.

additionally, the factory mirror mount that also contains the lane departure camera and rain sense for the wipers is not centered on the windshield, it sits about 2 inches to the passenger side from center and if I mount the blackvue to the right (passenger side) the camera ends up pretty much in the direct line of sight of the passenger. if I mount it left of the mirror on the driver’s side the lens itself is probably on the left 1/3 not even close to center of the windshield and my OCD cannot live with it too far away from center.