Taking stills at intervals instead of video

marauder

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Hello all;

Total novice here. Looking at putting cameras in a couple of vehicles for a project. Thing is, they don't want the typical dashcam behavior of continuous loop video with saving on event. Instead, they simply want to capture still images at regular intervals (say 5 minute intervals for sake of argument). Ultimately want to upload these stills to a server to be displayed on a website. There's already a modem (linux based) in the vehicles to provide a 3G/4G internet connection, and could potentially pull pics via USB if that's needed. Want the entire process automated, without any interaction from the driver.

Spent some time searching the 'net, but haven't found a camera that might support such a scenario. Could anyone point me in the right direction?

Edit: Probably should have posted in the "What to buy" section. Feel free to move!

Hello all;

Total novice here. Looking at putting cameras in a couple of vehicles for a project. Thing is, they don't want the typical dashcam behavior of continuous loop video with saving on event. Instead, they simply want to capture still images at regular intervals (say 5 minute intervals for sake of argument). Ultimately want to upload these stills to a server to be displayed on a website. There's already a modem (linux based) in the vehicles to provide a 3G/4G internet connection, and could potentially pull pics via USB if that's needed. Want the entire process automated, without any interaction from the driver.

Spent some time searching the 'net, but haven't found a camera that might support such a scenario. Could anyone point me in the right direction?

Edit: Probably should have posted in the "What to buy" section. Feel free to move!

The Mobius action camera would be a good candidate for what you want to do as it has extensive control for capturing time lapse footage via its computer based GUI.