UK members, Car Insurance Discount?

mpm235

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
has any UK members here managed to get a discount on their Car Insurance for having a Dash Cam? I've noticed that AXA and Swift Cover advertise as giving discounts, but has anyone ever got a genuine discount? Or is it just advertising gimmicks? Thanks, Mark

The main problem with getting a discount for having a dashcam is that if you were ever in a position to need it as evidence and you find it’s either corrupt or not worked for some reason then they may not uphold your insurance.

You would be far better just to pay your insurance as normal, and use the footage as and when it’s needed to cover yourself.

From what i have heard if you weren't able to supply your video for any reason the worst that would happen is they revoke your discount with immediate effect. (I'm no expert on this though!!)

I know Confused.com added the question 'Dashcam Fitted?' Yes or No to their questions a while back but i've never tried it with both options to see if the made any difference to pricing.

I found that no matter what insurer offered discount "with a dashcam" I was still able to find companies that didn't offer the discount would still provide cheaper quotes

Some insurers only recognise certain brands too.

From what i have heard if you weren't able to supply your video for any reason the worst that would happen is they revoke your discount with immediate effect. (I'm no expert on this though!!)

I know Confused.com added the question 'Dashcam Fitted?' Yes or No to their questions a while back but i've never tried it with both options to see if the made any difference to pricing.

I did try using Confused.com, went through it twice, once without "dashcam fitted" and then again with. Made no difference at all to the quotes that came back, all were exactly the same. This was the reason I asked my original question. Thanks