Views on reliability.

tomerrr

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2018
Messages
141
Reaction score
32
Country
Israel
I didn't really think it would do anything but I swapped the current card (a 128GB one) with a cheapo 32GB card and it actually did seem to make it start recording reliably! What a stupid quirk/bug.
did you get 0kb files on the 128GB card?
 

oggdilla

New Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
Country
United States
No, but I have seen that problem before. Especially annoying since the cam looks like it's working (blinking red) while actually it's recording a whole lot of nothing.
 

MotorMac

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
12
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius V1, Mini, Maxi, Rexing (not recomended), misc.
@MotorMac
We could not duplicate this issue. We may need more details. Thanks.
1. Firmware version; 2. The settings (the config txt file); 3. The timing the camera got started and the power interruption; 4. The photo of the memory card you are using.
Done (see previous post), thank you Mobius!
Another run using same config file and PNY card yielded the following results:

Total of 87 clips (1080p/3min.)
Of 87 clips, 8 were corrupt.
All 8 corrupt clips were first clips after a stop/start, all were about 342MB (typical of a 3min. clip), and all clips following a corrupt clip were recorded correctly.
In short, this new PCB board is now acting exactly the same as its predecessor. 100% repeatable. I'd also bet it would pass bench tests as previous cam did.

Two differences to previous post: The hex “q” code at beginning and near end (see attached), and the fact that I can no longer copy corrupt files from SD card (-50 error, they also hang the hex editor). I can live with the situation knowing first clip will be damaged, but would obviously like to correct whatever condition is causing it. If I find anything, will post here.
Again, thank you Mobius for a great camera and your attention to this.
 

Attachments

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
3,326
Reaction score
3,036
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Quite a few...
If you are going to live with the first clip always being corrupt, I suggest that you change to 1 min clip duration so that you lose less recording time.

That's a rather curious, repeatable issue. I hope Mobius and perhaps other camera developers can learn something from it.
 

MotorMac

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
12
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius V1, Mini, Maxi, Rexing (not recomended), misc.
TonyM, great advice! Curious issue is right, and getting curiouser (if that's a word). 100% repeatable on two different circuit boards, no less.
Changed script (config file) to 1 min. clips and took a ride today, making a few stops along the way. Result was 91 clips, all recorded perfectly!
To be more precise:
Changed Image_Size from 0 to 3
Changed Photo_ Osd from 1 to 0
Changed Video_Quality from 1 to 2
Changed Clip_Length from 1 (3min) to 0 (1min)
Changed Video_ Osd from 1 to 0
Changed MD_Timeout from 2 to 0
All other settings match script (config file) posted here earlier. Never use Maxi dashcam for photos or onscreen, and can't imagine any of these other settings had any effect.
Video quality went from fine (1) to normal (2), and Motion Detect (MD) was off anyway. Will experiment with these next time, since corrupt file issue now appears to be gone.
(Comparing stills taken from fine and normal shows a distinct difference - will bump that setting back to fine first.)
Curiouser and curiouser...
I should add that I made sure battery was fully charged this time. Might have more to do with situation than settings....?
 
Last edited:

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
3,326
Reaction score
3,036
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Quite a few...
It looks like you're making progress with 91 perfect clips.

Try changing just the Video Quality to see if that has any effect on reliability. I only use Extreme or Super Fine - there is a noticeable quality difference if you choose Normal or Fine.
 

MotorMac

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
12
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius V1, Mini, Maxi, Rexing (not recomended), misc.
Happy 4th! Rode about 170 miles in Sierras today, we saw a parade, ate hot dogs and rode over Yuba Pass (6700 feet).
Mobius Maxi video quality changed to 1 (fine), it shot 235 perfect 1-min. clips. Not a single corrupt file in the lot.
So video quality isn't a factor, but I think clip length is. (I realize 'fine' setting isn't best this cam is capable of, but have to keep file size down.)
I had problems with 5-min. clips (previous PCB) and 3-min. clips (new PCB), but 1-min. clips are solid. No other changes, same SD card in use.
 

MotorMac

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
12
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius V1, Mini, Maxi, Rexing (not recomended), misc.
Maxi has been flawless - spectacular, in fact - as long as I stick to 1-minute clips (1080p/30 fine). Both Maxi cams had the corrupt file issue with 3 or 5-min. clips, so 1-min. was the fix (thanks, Tony!)

Not satisfied with flawless performance and impeccable video, I put Mobius Supercaps into one Maxi (all settings identical), and immediately discovered something you probably know: Caps have to be charged or camera won't save clips. Cam's LEDs tell the story: If LEDs don't show activity when ignition is turned off, file isn't saved. Caps take 20 seconds to charge from 2A USB (according to green LED), and about the same time to run down without external power. Once charged, cam works as it should; on with power, save and shutdown when power is removed. What I don't yet know is how long cam can sit unpowered before caps drain to zero.

So, if using a Maxi as a dashcam with Supercaps, triggered by ignition switch, I have to send power to camera and shut camera off for 20-30 seconds until caps charge. Without initial charge, cam doesn't save clips for - near as I can tell - about 10-12 minutes or so since cam is robbing power from caps and allowing only partial charge. For my purposes (on a motorcycle that may sit for a few days between rides), a battery-powered Maxi might be the better option. And editing 1-min. clips is a breeze since there is no overlap (extra frames) or gaps between clips. Really impressed with video from both Maxi and Mini, and I'm not even using best settings.
 

MotorMac

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
12
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius V1, Mini, Maxi, Rexing (not recomended), misc.
Putting SuperCaps into a Maxi has put me right back where I started: On the bike, missing/corrupt clips, some out of order. On the bench, the Maxi with SuperCaps performs perfectly, whether started w/charged caps or drained/empty caps.
Camera draws .5A while charging caps (20-25 seconds), then drops to .25A while recording. Using 1-min. clips 1080p/30, fine, on w/external power.

Have to believe Maxi as dashcam on motorcycle gets power disrupted by starting motor and doesn't recover for 3-4 minutes.
(Previous corrupt file issue - dashcam with battery installed - solved by changing recording from 3/5-min. to 1-min clips.)
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
5,508
Reaction score
4,976
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, N2 Pro, K2S, B2W, (ex Mobius)
Seems you'll need a separate start-up delay timer to get it to work on the bike.

Phil
 

MotorMac

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
12
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius V1, Mini, Maxi, Rexing (not recomended), misc.
Yes.... or an on/off switch. Mystery to me, and Mobius said they couldn't duplicate issue. Back to battery, then.
As they say, if it works, don't fix it.
Really impressed with video quality from the Maxi (and Mini) Cameras work correctly, problem is all mine.
Thank you both for help and suggestions, all the best to you.
 

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
3,326
Reaction score
3,036
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Quite a few...
Putting SuperCaps into a Maxi has put me right back where I started: On the bike, missing/corrupt clips, some out of order. On the bench, the Maxi with SuperCaps performs perfectly, whether started w/charged caps or drained/empty caps.
Camera draws .5A while charging caps (20-25 seconds), then drops to .25A while recording. Using 1-min. clips 1080p/30, fine, on w/external power.

Have to believe Maxi as dashcam on motorcycle gets power disrupted by starting motor and doesn't recover for 3-4 minutes.
(Previous corrupt file issue - dashcam with battery installed - solved by changing recording from 3/5-min. to 1-min clips.)
What setting did you select for power-off disconnect? Immediate or 2 seconds? I have found that the Maxi capacitor can tolerate 2 seconds without power, which helps a lot with brief power interruptions.
 

MotorMac

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
12
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius V1, Mini, Maxi, Rexing (not recomended), misc.
Power off set to 0, immediate.
Another workaround (in theory) would be to turn on ignition (with headlight), wait 20 seconds for caps to charge, then start motor. Worked just now, 2 good clips:M A full minute clip with motor start at 35 seconds, then remaining 12 seconds to ignition off.

But..... as before, problem has same intermittent characteristics. Files may save a few minutes down the road - or not - and first clips are often corrupt or missing entirely. Even after riding some distance, first clip after a stop may be missing/corrupt - or not - and recorded clips might be out of order. But not always.

Don't know why delaying off time for 2 seconds would help (as off is off), but I know better than to question Tony. Will give it a try, thanks!
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
5,508
Reaction score
4,976
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, N2 Pro, K2S, B2W, (ex Mobius)
Could be that there's a spike or drop in the voltage at times which the "immediate' setting tries to respond to. Could be something so quick that you'd need a 'scope to find. Then that 2 second delay would (hopefully) take you past the voltage problem and leave the cam running. Just an idea- I can't see how it could otherwise happen unless the cam was bad.

Phil
 
Top