Viofo A229 Plus or 2x A119 Mini 2?

prv008

Reaction score
Country
United States
So Viofo seems to be having a spring sale on Amazon with the A119 Mini 2 ($99) and Viofo A229 Plus ($180).

Can someone kindly help me make a decision between buying a single A229 Plus vs 2x A119 Mini 2 (one for front and one for rear). I researched the pros and cons mentioned in all the other threads here and it seems like the decision between 2 single channel and one dual channel dash cam is fairly evenly split and I am losing my mind over this decision.

My 3 channel VIOFO has been excellent for years.

I would get the 2 channel because it's easier to check if it is working before you drive off, instead of two, where you would have to look behind you to see a tiny LED.

@mentadent That makes sense, thank you.

Also, for folks who have used dash cams for a while (I am new to this), two additional questions
1. Are single channel dash cams more reliable than 2 channel dash cams in the long run?
2. Do I really need a rear camera if I don't drive too much (could I just make due with a single A119 mini 2 in the front)?

Welcome to the club.
You are the second person in 2 weeks to wrestle with this decision.
Use Promo Code MikeDmini2 for 5% off the Mini 2’s.

Convenience: A229 Plus 2-CH ($180)
Image Quality: A119 Mini F&R ($99 each)

A119 Mini 2 additional costs;
$15 2nd CPL Filter
$18 2nd HK4 Hardwire Kit
$?? 2nd SD Card

5% Off MikeDmini2 .png

1. Are single channel dash cams more reliable than 2 channel dash cams in the long run?
YES!

2. Do I really need a rear camera
Yes, kinda.
And also side cameras. lol

Last edited:
You are the second person in 2 weeks to wrestle with this decision.
Use Promo Code MikeDmini2 for 5% off the Mini 2’s.

Convenience: A229 Plus 2-CH ($180)
Image Quality: A119 Mini F&R ($99 each)

A119 Mini 2 additional costs;
$15 2nd CPL Filter
$18 2nd HK4 Hardwire Kit
$?? 2nd SD Card

View attachment 71393

YES!

Yes, kinda.
And also side cameras. lol