512GW Ultra + RearCam Standby battery life with Ign Supply

TerryToye

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. I'm a newbie. I've just purchased the Nextbase 512GW Ultra, RearCam & Hardwire Kit.
After reading the many 'confusing' posts I think I'll use the Cam with Parking Mode OFF.
It is apparent that in Parking Mode there are issues in filling up the card, (mine is 64GB), and/or not turning back on when continuing a journey (in traffic queues).
However, as I'm retired and the car is not used every day, I'm not sure if I should connect to a permanent live or Ignition Supply because of the time it will take to recharge the internal battery if not permanently connected.
I hope there's someone who can give some informed advice on my issue.
Thanks to all, in anticipation.
Subaru (UK) Levorg

I just used to have mine in the car when moving. I used to bring it in and connect it to the PC via USB so when using the PC the unit was charging, once fully charged, unplug it.
Then repeat in a week if I hadn't used it.

Now I've packed in the daily toil I only do a few thousand miles a year.

No problem now because my 380 has a capacitor. Unit stays onthe windscreen in the garage.

@TerryToye please rest assured parking mode will not fill up the SD card with protected files, only a certainly percentage will be allocated to protected files.

If you select a permanently live fuse please turn on parking mode other wise it will record 24/7 and put unnecessary stress on the SD card, going through many more rewrite cycles than normal.

@TerryToye please rest assured parking mode will not fill up the SD card with protected files, only a certainly percentage will be allocated to protected files.

If you select a permanently live fuse please turn on parking mode other wise it will record 24/7 and put unnecessary stress on the SD card, going through many more rewrite cycles than normal.

Thanks Tiffany.