Cabin View

Hopeless

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm hopeless when it comes to technology :(

I have Nextbase 522GW, with add on "cabin view" I'm a PH taxi driver, is it possible to "live stream" recording from the dashcam to my laptop?

The reason I ask, should a disruptive passenger attempt to remove the dashcam, I'll have no evidence of the incident

don’t know about the actual streaming, but you could always lie and TELL disruptive passengers it’s being streamed to the cloud

Welcome to the forum Hopeless.

That scenario you only have a couple of choices.
1: A smart camera that stream events to the cloud, but i am not sure how well such a camera would handle a event like a camera snatching.
2: A system with one or more cameras remote like the SG9663DR - mini K2S and a few others, these have their cameras on wires, so any snatching and they will just get the camera, the main unit with the memory card you can hide.
Main drawback here is none of these systems have a IR aided camera for cabin recording, i think SG planned to make a optional one, but corona and now the boss having had surgery i am not sure about a time frame.
These cameras will most often get a good shot of people entering your car with the cabin light on, maybe change that light to manual so you can keep it on a bit longer, also the cameras are okay low light performers so in the ambient light of a town at night the footage will not be all darkness.

The A139 do have its cabin camera with IR light on a wire too, and you can get a lock bracket for the main camera so as i understand it you cant just slide it off its mount or turn it off, you will have to pull it off the glass, and in strait pull force this actually take quite some muscle to do.
The cabin camera for instance mounted like mine on the mirror stalk, that will probably be what a emotional person would lunge for, so in that case the memory card and recordings are safe in the main camera on the windscreen.