Nextbase 522 reoccurring issues across multiple installs - Technicians view.

danjwilko

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, hope you are all well, and hopefully since were on a 522gw sub not to many problems. Disclaimer I'm a technician for a UK company that installs in car tech.

The long story short myself and another technician are pulling hairs out basically over these units, we have seen multiple come back into the shop over the last year or so and increasingly more so the last few months.
Its always the same story, freezes, lockup, unable to turn off the owners either leave the units to deplete the battery or press the reset button underneath to get them going again for a short while.

Nextbase support have been amazing as per normal so cannot fault them at all but the brand is certainly being let down by the units at the moment. We didnt seem to see the same problem with the 312/512's.

So at the beginning of the week we receive a phone call from one customer with the freezing issue, and booked them in to asses the unit etc and lo and behold another Dash-cam is booked in via customer support upon checking the details its the same camera, same problem, so i decided to keep note of the units coming back in just for a reference.

The last two days alone Ive had 4 522s back in with the same issue.

First one was installed in an Ford ecospsort 2014, the customer originally bought the 522 bundle deal back in February this year, has had 2 replacement units since then. The original issue was freezing/no power once ignition was switched off, so we switched the setup from a ignition live setup to permanent live setup. (Point to note: Nextbase tech support stated for all front and rear installs if parking mode is wanted then they have to be hardwired in permanent live as the internal batteries do not contain enough power).