Can I run 2 systems and sync them? Actual dash & Front/Rear.

ClodOdirt

Reaction score
Country
United States
I want a camera covering the dash (blinkers, MPH, etc.) with GPS, and the usual front/rear facing system w/GPS. Are theses cameras time stamped accurately for syncing? I am completely new to this... shopping for my first system...

GPS timestamps are fairly accurate, expect them to be within 2 seconds on normal dashcams. They are not much better than 1 second because dashcam GPS normally only updates at 1 second intervals.

You could get something like the Viofo A229 Plus, which has an optional "Internal"/Cabin camera, which you can point at your dash. It is hard to find a good mounting position though, the good places are normally too close for the camera to be able to focus.

Hi Nigel, my intention was to mount at the center dome light and tap power there... old car, don't care how it looks, I just need it to function... I've been told that I will have to manually sync the two... so I was curious about the time stamps...

Hi Nigel, my intention was to mount at the center dome light and tap power there... old car, don't care how it looks, I just need it to function... I've been told that I will have to manually sync the two... so I was curious about the time stamps...
If you have separate cameras, the problem is that the files start and end at different times, could be 1 minute apart, so it becomes difficult to put a front and a rear file together. If you use a 2 channel camera then the files start at the same time, or close enough. But normally you don't have to watch the files simultaneously, normally it is not necessary to have them synced.

For what you are trying to do, maybe it is necessary. If it is critical to get within 1/30th second then it will be very difficult on any dashcam, although sometimes it can be done accurately by sound. For about 1 second accuracy you can use the timestamps, although that might sometimes slip to 2 second accuracy.