Dash camera advice

Gbows

Reaction score
Country
United States
Contemplating installing a dash camera with backup battery for parking mode. My car has been dinged parked several times and tired of it. I'm not a daily driver and mostly drive on weekends. My biggest concern is having car battery issues since I don't drive every day to charge backup battery. Any advice and best camera trecommendations appreciated. Thanks Greg

"dinged"? Sounds like you may want to opt for a 360 degree view quad-dashcam (aka, 4-channel), like Planet Halo's PH4 (https://www.planethalocameras.com/products/dash-cam/ph4-m/). Though Planet Halo's PH4 appears to work in theory, I have no experience with it so I cannot vouch for its quality, reliability, ease of use, ability for realtime storage to the cloud, etc. As for the "having car battery issues", your best bet is most likely to use a Power Magic (or similar) battery pack with a hard-wiring kit and battery expansion modules. The base module typically gives you 24hrs continuous recording when fully charged, with each expansion module adding another +/- 24 hrs. (Sounds like you will need ~4 expansion modules.) The catch here is, however, that each module (base module and each of expansion module) will require you driving about 1 hour to fully charge; thus, assuming your scenario, you will need to drive some 5 hours each weekend to charge all battery packs in order to carry you through your next M-F weekly cycle. In practice you should probably plan on 6 battery packs total, with a corresponding number of driven hours per weekend (~6 hrs). Cost will add up quickly. Best wishes!

Welcome to the forum Gbows.