do you let your dash cam record audio inside the car?

J

Jaranson

I'm new to this... but watching dash cam videos with audio felt like someone left a tape recorder in the shower...(yes, I do sing in the shower and I don't really know my do-re-mi :D )

It comes down to personal preference. Some of the higher end cameras have a mute button as well as a menu option. If possible i would leave audio on and try to get into the habit of calling out the plate to the camera of something that looks dangerous or you think something might happen because you can't tell for sure if the plate is on camera and sometimes after the fact the plate may not be clear due to sun or the camera or car was at a bad angle.

I'm new to this... but watching dash cam videos with audio felt like someone left a tape recorder in the shower...(yes, I do sing in the shower and I don't really know my do-re-mi :D )

Why not recording an autio inside the car ? Yes, for sure.
Sound quality depends on how good quality dash camera you buy. Common rule is: - the more expencive, - the better quality. Of course it is not always 100%. but in most cases it is.
What dash cam model videos did you watch ?

Yes I always record audio, most of the time I add background music to fun videos. I only expect to "need" the audio for a real accident or when I'm adding details like plate numbers etc.

I usually leave the audio recording on. That way, I can add my own audio comments if something questionable is going on. This is especially nice if that "something" is not in the video field - like somebody following close behind busy texting on their cellphone. I can comment on what they are doing, the make and color of car, etc, as evidence before they rear-end me. Also, license plate numbers can go to audio if you have the forethought that it would be good to record the information.

Last edited: