GIT2P 90 firmware mod

OP
OP
H

hc_1982

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
7
Country
Ukraine
#21
But it seems to have a brickwall compressor on audio, some time the background noise is too much amplified, Git2P do not like silence or what ? Do you think you can disable this ?
I have not seen anything related to audio compressor in code. It has noise filter, but it is disabled anyway.
Are you using external mic, or is this git2p internal one? My cam records only loud sounds, and almost does not hear regular speech, and one of yours seems to be pretty sensitive.
What about video quality? Is it youtube, or video really so blocky? Make sure you are using High video quality and B/W effect on, especially in dim light.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
10
Likes
1
Country
France
#22
Okay I am trying your config why b/w, I didn't take care about the video quality at first.

I've build my own stereo microphone with the following schematic (the right value for stereo is 330k), also you need some mini usb 10 pins connector (the soldering is hard so you may fail 1 or 2 time, so I've bought 10 of them), for the microphone caps I use 2 small normal one, not electret, not condenser, you need also an headphone stereo cable.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
10
Likes
1
Country
France
#24
nope, you get stereo with a 330k resistor.
Original was MOV, 1080 60fps, 36Mbits/s, Wav PCM 48khz, 1533Kbits/s, custom w/b activated, light tungsten, shutter auto, iso 1600, contrast low, gyro on, wbr off, gyro low. I've encoded it in MP4 H264 1920x1080, 60fps, MP4 h264, 10Mbits/s, AAC LC 96khz, 1536k/s.
The left microphone have move a little to the right before the recording and I didn't see it in the night. I think may be a small mic amplifier can increase sound quality, but I don't know the caracteristic of usb audio input of Git2P 90.
 
OP
OP
H

hc_1982

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
7
Country
Ukraine
#25
Original was MOV, 1080 60fps, 36Mbits/s, Wav PCM 48khz, 1533Kbits/s, custom w/b activated, light tungsten, shutter auto, iso 1600, contrast low, gyro on, wbr off, gyro low.
Looks cool!
Is this Medium Quality setting for 1080p60? Gyro enabled adds some motion blur and bouncing. Also, I believe, "Gyro Low" is setting used in CarDVR mode, it sets sensitivity of GSensor, to protect video file recorded during accident from deleting. Lens are fixed and focused to infinity, so minimal focus distance is up to 2-3 meters, everything nearer than 1m is completely out of focus.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
10
Likes
1
Country
France
#26
Yes quality Medium, Gyro Hight, yes f course I am out of focus that's why it's blured. I am filming with my raw-run helmet
. The next test will be in the week, longboarding at night with good image and amazing sound, I will post it here fo sure, big thanks for your work ^^ ! Also the wednesday october 31th I will film a Halloween night cruising (with longboard, roller, bike etc...).
 
OP
OP
H

hc_1982

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
7
Country
Ukraine
#28
(for waiting read the youtube description)
I would suggest following config:

Sharpness: Low
Contrast: Normal
Quality: High
Effect: B/W
WB: Auto
Gyro: Off (camera is mounted on your head, so it should be pretty stable, and Gyro EIS introduces lot of rapid random "bouncing" and image quality degradation)
WDR: off (if enabled, it will conflict with Image Effect, W/B in this case)
ISO: 1600
Shutter: Auto

As for me, such config should produce naturally looking image in most of conditions with minimal noise and artifacts possible with this cam.
Also, what do you think about current mod? Have image quality improved for you?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
10
Likes
1
Country
France
#29
Yes the image quality was realy improved for sure ! I'm not agree with Gyro +longboarding+helmet, I've reduce the bitrate by 2 for youtube, you will see better video this week ^^
 

mgri3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
Spain
#30
hello, I like the new functionalities you have added, I would love to carry them to a git2 imx206 170º fov camera, especially the iso and shutter adjustments to avoid the annoying motion blur and rolling shutter, is there any easy way to do it?
 
OP
OP
H

hc_1982

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
7
Country
Ukraine
#31
hello, I like the new functionalities you have added, I would love to carry them to a git2 imx206 170º fov camera, especially the iso and shutter adjustments to avoid the annoying motion blur and rolling shutter, is there any easy way to do it?
Hello. Unfortunately, there is no easy way to implement these features via binary mod of firmware, as lot of small modifications are required in many places, especially for shutter speed settings. ISO limiting feature is simpler, but it is not possible just copy and paste it from current mod even to different version of firmware for the same cam. Such modifications require understanding of MIPS assembler and C language, and lot of time for solving puzzle where to find additional several bytes to put few additional cpu instructions into.
Possibly, issue with motion blur for 30fps videos could be solved, at least partially, in easier way. In most cases, ae curve rises shutter speed to max (~1/30s) too fast. As for me, more or less acceptable shutter speed is around 1/50-1/60s. So, we can trade somewhat higher ISO for faster shutter speed - instead of increasing exposure time at ISO100 from e.g. 1/100s to 1/50s to 1/30s and then increasing ISO up to ISO3200, it is possible to stop at 1/50s, and increase ISO till ISO800-ISO1600, where 1/30s is finally set. Such modified ae curve results in less motion blur even with relatively dim light conditions and could be implemented easily, as no code modifications required for it.
 
OP
OP
H

hc_1982

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
7
Country
Ukraine
#32
Hey guys! Latest changes seems to be ready for release, so please check update details in first post of this topic.
I would recommend checking out new 1080p50 video mode, especially if power line frequency in your country is 50Hz and your display/TV supports 50Hz or 100Hz refresh rate, as it requires 2 times less light compared to 1080p60 and could be easily used indoors or at low light. Also, please note, that video bitrates have been doubled, so fast sd card is required or Low(~32Mpbs)/Med(~55Mbps) quality should be used if High bitrates (~67-70Mbps) are not necessary for your needs.
 

mgri3

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
3
Likes
0
Country
Spain
#33
Hello. Unfortunately, there is no easy way to implement these features via binary mod of firmware, as lot of small modifications are required in many places, especially for shutter speed settings. ISO limiting feature is simpler, but it is not possible just copy and paste it from current mod even to different version of firmware for the same cam. Such modifications require understanding of MIPS assembler and C language, and lot of time for solving puzzle where to find additional several bytes to put few additional cpu instructions into.
Possibly, issue with motion blur for 30fps videos could be solved, at least partially, in easier way. In most cases, ae curve rises shutter speed to max (~1/30s) too fast. As for me, more or less acceptable shutter speed is around 1/50-1/60s. So, we can trade somewhat higher ISO for faster shutter speed - instead of increasing exposure time at ISO100 from e.g. 1/100s to 1/50s to 1/30s and then increasing ISO up to ISO3200, it is possible to stop at 1/50s, and increase ISO till ISO800-ISO1600, where 1/30s is finally set. Such modified ae curve results in less motion blur even with relatively dim light conditions and could be implemented easily, as no code modifications required for it.
The first thing thanks for the time in the answer, you tell me that setting the ISO in the video settings automatically the camera would select lower exposure times, that possibility I have already tested with ISO 400 but I have seen no difference with selecting ISO 50, you who has worked with the code can assure me that if I choose a high ISO this would be set and the ae would set it with lower exposure values, I think the only way to set the ISO is to also select the exposure time but I can be wrong.
 
OP
OP
H

hc_1982

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
7
Country
Ukraine
#34
The first thing thanks for the time in the answer, you tell me that setting the ISO in the video settings automatically the camera would select lower exposure times, that possibility I have already tested with ISO 400 but I have seen no difference with selecting ISO 50, you who has worked with the code can assure me that if I choose a high ISO this would be set and the ae would set it with lower exposure values, I think the only way to set the ISO is to also select the exposure time but I can be wrong.
Sorry, my English is not very good, so it is hard for me explain thoughts clearly sometimes. Exposure works in 2 modes in stock firmware for git2p (I believe, same applies to git2 too) - automatic and manual. Manual mode is activated when BOTH shutter speed and ISO menu options are set to some value (not auto), otherwise automatic exposure (AE) is active. Automatic exposure has special table (AE curve) where level of light (some numeric value) is specified and corresponding ISO and shutter speed for it, e.g., use ISO50 and shutter speed 1/1000s in bright light, or use ISO3200 and 1/30s in low light. Usually this table has several entries and software calculates actual iso and shutter speed according to it (used numbers are not real, just for example):
...
10000 ("very bright light") ISO100 1/100s
5000 ("bright light") ISO100 1/50s
3000 ("not so bright light") ISO100 1/30s
1500 ISO200 1/30s
750 ISO400 1/30s
375 ISO800 1/30s
187 ISO1600 1/30s
0 ISO3200 1/30s

So, idea is to adjust only this table and keep exposure short as long as possible, and switch from 1/50s to 1/30s exposure only in darkness:
...
10000 ("very bright light") ISO100 1/100s
5000 ("bright light") ISO100 1/50s
2500 ("not so bright light") ISO200 1/50s
1250 ISO400 1/50s
625 ISO800 1/50s
312 ISO1600 1/50s
187 ISO1600 1/30s
0 ISO3200 1/30s

Of course, this table could be adjusted in such way, that 1/100s or any other shutter speed will be used as long as possible. Motion blur will be reduced even more in such case, but image will be much noisier too.
 

gitup

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
809
Likes
889
Country
China
Dash Cam
GIT1, GIT2
#35
The first thing thanks for the time in the answer, you tell me that setting the ISO in the video settings automatically the camera would select lower exposure times, that possibility I have already tested with ISO 400 but I have seen no difference with selecting ISO 50, you who has worked with the code can assure me that if I choose a high ISO this would be set and the ae would set it with lower exposure values, I think the only way to set the ISO is to also select the exposure time but I can be wrong.
If you set ISO value for video, also need set a exposure value, otherwise will no difference.
 
OP
OP
H

hc_1982

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
18
Likes
7
Country
Ukraine
#36
If you set ISO value for video, also need set a exposure value, otherwise will no difference.
This is true for original firmware, but this mod changes this behavior, and setting ISO for video limits max ISO to specified value and works even if shutter speed set to Auto. It was supposed that shutter speed should work with ISO Auto too, but it looks like I have missed something, so current version of mod needs some ISO value to activate custom shutter speed. Next version of mod will have workaround for this issue, where ISO 50 will set max ISO to 3200, so effectively it will be equal to ISO Auto for video.
 

Similar threads

Top