HELP - How to Hardwire Viofo MT1 to Caterham?

maximumhaze

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

Complete beginner with dashcams and vehicle electronics here trying to hardwire a Viofo MT1 to a Caterham 7.

The camera was recommended to me by the organisers of the championship that I will be racing in this year as a novice and I have since seen that they posted on this very forum and were recommended the MT1 by @Nigel. I bought the car second hand so don't have the advantage of having put it together and understanding the wiring of the car.

The rules for the championship are:
"The camera must be hard-wired to the vehicle power supply and must start recording automatically either when the ignition is switched on, or when the vehicle exceeds a certain speed."

The camera's manual has diddly squat on how to wire it correctly which I'm assuming is due to safety reasons. The review and "installation" videos on YouTube are also pretty unhelpful.

As I understand it (please correct me if i'm wrong):

The black ground wire is to be attached to the negative of the battery or a chassis bolt.
The red power wire is to be directly connected to the positive of the battery.

As for the ACC cable do I follow these steps?

1. Locate ACC fuse in fuse box using multimeter (only receiving power when the ignition is on)
2. Remove Fuse and replace with fuse tap making sure it matches with the positive and negative of the fuse board
3. Put removed fuse in fuse tap
4. connect acc wire to fuse tap using bullet connector

Am I missing any steps?
Do I need to put a second fuse in the tap that matches the one removed from the car fuse box? I have seen this in a couple of hardwiring vids for other cams.
Will this fuse tap and bullet connecter suffice?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Max

Hi,